Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

"Damian, if it's a boy, Anathema for a girl."
2006-04-23 10:37 p.m.

My sister asked me to be one of her bridesmaids in October. This makes me happy. I've never been a bridesmaid before.

Apparently, I go to her approved dress retailer chain, tell them the appropriate color and fabric, and they will have several different styles for me to choose from. I haven't seen any of the styles yet, but I approve of the general idea. Sarah said the other bridesmaids independently arrived at various floor-length gowns, so I might have to insist on something shorter, out of a fear of conformity.

Besides, in general, I avoid the floor-length. I do in fact have some damn impressive legs. Why would I want to cover them up?

Also, everyone in the wedding party will be wearing Converses. This seems like another excellent reason to not wear a floor-length dress, but more importantly, it brings up an interesting point of etiquette. I currently have a kinda ratty pair of mustard yellow ones, but maybe that's going too far. It's all very well and good to flaunt convention and demand that your bridemaids wear Chuck Taylors, but would perhaps wearing slightly weathered Chuck Taylors be pushing that envelope just a little too much?? What would Emily Post say? I don't know these things, which is probably why I'm not invited to more formal occasions.
***
Speaking of Chuck Taylors. The attentive reader may recall that I have a kind of ratty mustard yellow pair right now.

(You don't remember me saying that? Dude. It was only a few paragraphs ago. Try to pay attention. I'm not doing this for me, you know...)

(Oh, wait. Yes I am.)

Anyway. I have a RMYPOC. One of my LARP characters wears them. I wanted to write some about last weekend's LARP, and then a whole week passed without me writing anything. I was probably going to say all sorts of clever and interesting things on the subject, so I am not going to let the mere fact that it is now last week's news stop me from saying them.

The last LARP was pretty awesome, actually. My main character, the one I made when I started in the game four years ago, now has a demon spider baby growing inside of her. These things happen.

(It led to a lot of amusing conversations:

"HOW did this happen?"
"Well, you see, sometimes, when a man and a woman love each other very much..."
"But you're a VAMPIRE!"
"Yeah? So?"
"You're not alive! It is physically impossible for you to gestate!"
"It's not impossible. It happened."
"But HOW!?!"
"Do you want me to draw you a diagram?")

I keep telling people there's no way Ellen will live through the summer, but I secretly think she will. She's survived everything else, damn her.

Long ago, I made a character. It was the very first time I had ever done so. I seem to remember telling the story in here once before. (The REALLY attentive reader will no doubt recall...) The short version is that Ellen is possibly the only completely sane person in the Valley. NO derangements. Not a single one. Since she is sane, and a coward, she runs at the first sign of danger. She doesn't even get into arguments with people. She will live forever.

After about two years, I got bored. ("Sanity is a one-trick pony, Arthur. All you get is one trick: Rational Thought."--The Tick.) I made a second character, a Brujah named Daisy, the antithesis of Ellen in every way I could think of. Daisy was loud, short-tempered, hyperactive, and kind of stupid. She had a wonderful derangement, "daredevil."

Daisy died last session. There was this Fomori see, and he was looking for trouble. He probably kept right on looking for trouble, after briefly pausing long enough to chew up Daisy and move on.

It's particularly annoying, because Daisy was taken out by a single solitary Fomori. Ellen managed not to die after being surprised by FOUR of them, all at once. (Technically, she did nothing. They surprised her, so all four got to attack while she just stood there bleeding at them. Then, the Fomori's leader showed up, and they decided to attack him instead. Ellen staggered out the door while they were distracted.)

It's also a bummer, because Daisy was a good outlet. When I got bored of sitting in the same places, and having the same usually boring conversations that Ellen always has with people, I could change into Daisy and work off a lot of pent-up restlessness by being loud and obnoxious for a while.

Fortunately, the demon love child should make Ellen a little more interesting. (I should ask KC to teach me how to crochet, so I can be making little baby booties next session. Six or eight matching ones at a time, of course.) The way Ben explained it, the last session, Ellen was basically still herself. She felt she was bringing something entirely new into the world, and as an arteeste, she thought this was a good thing.

It was very hard to not lapse into "This is my destiny!" kind of speeches. That would be crazy-talk. Ellen's not crazy. Yet.
***

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey