Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Are all the acronyms confusing you? To make a long story short, I'm SOL.
2006-03-07 10:39 a.m.

So, apparently, "Don't say anything" actually means, "Don't say anything, because something might just come completely out of left field and change everything, and then you'll just end up looking foolish." I'm very glad I didn't say anything at work.

A week ago, I was kind of told I'd be getting a promotion. New Salaried Guy who started last December had become increasingly convinced that the job wasn't what he'd been expecting at all. When hired, he had asked for two weeks of maternity leave in March, because that was when his girlfriend was due.

He spent much of February having secret meetings with Head Boss Lady. She said she asked him to consider coming back after two weeks vacation, just because it made life a little easier for her if he finished out the month. She told me all of this Fri the 24th. She said she didn't know what his decision would be, but she wanted me to spend the weekend figuring out exactly what I needed to work on, and coming up with a proposal for my salary, effective either more or less immediately, or on April 5 when the new fiscal year started.

Maybe NSG wasn't entirely clear about what she was asking, or maybe he just really wanted out, but he made it pretty clear on his last day before "vacation" that he would not be returning.

This was Tuesday the 28th. Wednesday, I asked HBL when we could sit down and talk about my future. She said, well, um. Apparently, she hadn't been allowed to say anything, but if the Beloit restaurant didn't get a visit from a magical pasta gnome who needed $50,000 of fettucine by 2pm that day, they were going out of business. OK, there was probably a more sane reason why they would stay open till 2, but not finish out the day, but I don't know what it is.

The point is, as of 2pm Weds, Beloit is now closed. She'd gotten a call from her boss, the Area Supervisor, that morning, and he wanted her to hire one of the Beloit salaried people.

She wanted to hire me. I already know her way of doing things, but Mr. Beloit would have to be retrained. She said she thought I was a stronger manager than NSG, and maybe even stronger than J, who NSG had replaced. But, it was out of her hands. If the AS decided to transfer someone from Beloit, she couldn't say no. She was going to Beloit on Thursday to scrounge any supplies that they clearly don't need anymore. The AS was driving down with her, and she would plead my case, and get back to me.

Friday, I was afraid to ask. Saturday, I only worked four hours, and it was really busy the entire time. Sunday I had off; yesterday, HBL was off. Today, I'm off. Tomorrow, I WILL have this conversation with her.

Unless I wuss out again. I've spent the past few days convincing myself that of course this won't happen. HBL doesn't like it any better than I do, but Mr. Beloit is her new Restaurant Manager. Surely, if the news was good, she would have found a way to pull me aside and let me know.

I really don't want to have this conversation, though. Right now, I've still got a slim chance that it's all good, and once I talk to her, I won't. Much better to continue stressing.
***
I'm going insane. My secret theory is that Mr. Beloit will turn out to be Smithers. I hate Smithers. Right now, I'm just kind of frightened of him because he sometimes sends out scary mass e-mails about how Fazuulian propaganda has touched every corner of his life. He really does live by the CORE principles, and could even tell you what that particular acronym means, which quite honestly, I can't. (Competent Organization R-something and Empowerment?)

He already considers himself sort of an AS in training, and his freaky mind powers get his superiors to agree with him. Word on the street is that what he really wants is to be an AS, or maybe higher. He's been told that no, that little restaurant you ran was a joke. If you could get some experience at a store that actually runs at a profit, like Madison, say, then maybe we could talk.

He would have to move to Madison. He would have to take a pay cut, and be a mere RM, because HBL will not give him her GM slot. These are all things of which Smithers is entirely capable. I hate Smithers.
***
And then last night, an RM from Fond du Lac called, looking for HBL. He said his AS had suggested he call her, about, er, something. DAMMIT. If only I'd talked to her on Fri, she would have told the Fond du Lac guy no, but now he's talking to her, and I suck.

Well, no. HBL knows my feelings. Maybe having some other area's AS input doesn't even have to affect her decision the way her personal AS does. Or maybe the FDL guy was calling about something else entirely.

More on this story, as it develops!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey