Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Shh!
2006-02-25 9:55 a.m.

So, does "Don't say anything" mean "Don't say anything at work" or is it more of a "Don't say anything at all, even in your little online diary, (Which of course we've all been reading the whole time, didn't you know that?) because They could be anywhere" kind of thing?

The news is good. I may be in a position to elaborate on Tuesday.

TUESDAY!! I stressed about this for so long, and now magically, it's all good. Or, maybe it isn't. Maybe it's scary and hardcore in ways I can't even imagine now, and the pressure will make my tiny mind snap in a month. I think it's good, though. We'll see. I want to do this. I think.
***
After four hours of Not Saying Anything at work, I simply had to tell Rijid. He wasn't here when I got home yesterday, but Dan was borrowing our printer technology, so I told him. Then, four hours later, I told Rijid. If you ask, I'll probably tell you.
***
Now I have to compile a list of my Strengths and Opportunites. No reason.

("Opportunities" is funny. In the Fazuulian mindset, you can't say you have a "weakness." You have an "opportunity for improvement." Sometimes, a "challenge." I remember during my initial interview, Head Boss Lady asked me what I felt my opportunites were, and I looked at her blankly. "Um, I don't think I understand the question." I was all panicky, because I was sure that right at that exact moment I was kissing the interview goodbye. She explained herself, and I managed not to laugh in her face. And look at me now...)

I'm friendly. I always keep a positive attitude, and try to motivate my associates (There's another one. I don't have "employees." I have "associates." Don't ask.) to do the same. I'm good at assessing the whole picture, and figuring out what has to be done first, and who is best qualified to do it. I remain calm under stress. I am patient. I'm GOOD at training. I learn new things quickly.

I'm unorganized. SO unorganized. I manage to more or less keep on top of everything by some magic I don't completely understand, but it will all crumble around me someday.

I formulate a plan of action, immediately exercise my authoritah and tell the associates to get to it, then think of a better plan 30 seconds later. (I'm not sure if the solution to that one is to be more decisive, and stick with the stupid plan in spite of everything, or just to admit that I don't know offhand and I need a second to think, and then reveal the brilliant plan as if it were the first one. I think the latter is better, but ooh how I hate saying "I don't know.")

I need to run the shifts I'm Manager On Duty. I'm fine at opening. I am the Alpha and the Omega of every single damn thing, but at 11am, one of my bosses comes in, and I immediately defer to her/him. The reverse happens when I close. After 8 pm, when there is no one outranking me around, I can be In Charge. But as long as there's someone else taking control, I'm content to let them do it.

I've actually talked about this with both HBL and Riker. They say they know they're supposed to step back and let the MOD make most of the decisions, but it's hard for them, because they have the experience the associate managers lack. It's second nature to them to just say it, instead of waiting to see if maybe I was just about to say the exact same thing.
***
I also need to figure out my goals for near future:

Get (*someone*) through the training he needs to be an AM.

Learn all the administrative stuff I still don't know. (Not that there's very much. I do budgets. I do Sunday truck orders. I do schedules. I slice, I dice, I make julienne fries.) Or, maybe there's a whole lot that I'm not even aware of yet. Find out, and learn it.

Address all of my challenges.

Stop cringing internally when I find myself saying things like "Address all of my challenges." Talk the talk. Sell my soul.

Become more hardcore about enforcing associate meals and dress codes. I know the standards. It's really hard to pretend that I give a damn.
***
(Just because it didn't fit in anywhere else, here is one more Fazuulian propaganda anecdote for you:

(Hans and I were talking once. He said he'd just finished his yearly Feel Good About Work Seminar, during which he learned that he doesn't have co-workers. He has "customers," as in, "The Customer is always right, do whatever you can to keep the customers happy, etc."

(I told him that I don't have customers. We call them "guests," as in "'Customer' implies a purely business transaction, while a 'guest' is a personal friend whom you sincerely want to welcome into your life."

(Which of course leads to the probably mutinous thought that someone should really tell the "guests" that that's what they are. When I'm a guest, I certainly don't act like that.)


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey