Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Filler entry
2006-01-09 1:16 p.m.

This is just a filler entry. I think I'm mostly done with the layout, so I started organizing the "older" page. It's not doing what I want it to do, and that makes me cross. My working theory is that I need something filed under the "current" heading, or Diaryland will be angry and screw everything up JUST TO PISS ME OFF. So, this can be the "current" entry.
***
All that's really on my mind is fiddling with the design, so I guess that's what this entry will have to be about. Sorry about that.

There are still some minor tweaks I need to make. I want the "Strangers" "Friends" and etc headings to be a color that matches the rest of the page. I want a new "Design by Ellen Moss" button.

(I wonder, can I still claim I designed the page, since I didn't design the background? Hmm. Or, did I "design" the background? Honestly, it's all a blur.)

(GRSites really is a mind-bogglingly cool place. I remember looking at backgrounds they had listed under "blue" and "green." I remember discovering that I could modify the colors, and turning several "green" designs blue and vice versa. I remember the terrifying moment when I realized I could also turn "orange" or "red" designs into any color I wanted, and suddenly had basically an infinite number of backgrounds to choose from. I have no idea at all whether this background was one right off the rack or if it's one of the ones I modified at all. But I digress. The basis for the design is clearly not original, so GRSites deserves some sort of credit.)
***
I might also need to make the navigation buttons a little less wide. Or, I might not. For a long time, it was bugging me that I couldn't see all of the "Diaryland" button on my screen. I fixed it for me by making it physically smaller, but I don't think that's necessarily a universal fix.

I need more knowledge. I swear I read something somewhere about one little line of code you insert to make the page fit any size window, but I'm not even sure where I might have read that.

So, now we're at the stage where I beg people for insight. Are all the navigation buttons in one row across the top of your screen, and can you see all of them completely?

And while I have your attention, is there a way to set the lengths of the green and blue boxes? Right now, they seem to always be the same length, and I very rarely write entries the exact length of my links column. It's minor, but it bugs me.
***
I'm pretty sure my HTML is all clunky and strange. I tried running the source code through an HTML editor I found. The first thing it noticed was my brief foray into CSS. I need that. Underlined links are so 1997. I know it must be right, because it works, but the HTML editor refused to acknowledge it because it's technically not HTML. Maybe all the things it "found" are similarly wrong. It found a lot. It pointed out the first 20 things it found, and refused to tell me any more till I fixed those. Damn you, HTML editor!

I need a real person who speaks HTML to go through my code line by line. I know there's a lot of completely superfluous stuff mixed in there, but figuring out what I really need makes my brain hurt.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey