Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Talking to myself is theraputic.
2005-12-07 3:52 p.m.

So, meh.

I am so sick of the job hunt. I had one interview last week, but in all honesty, the job in question is a little out of my league.

Almost everything I'm applying for is beyond me, probably. I know the sorts of things I'm hands-down qualified for, and I don't want them anymore. So, I'm trying for something better. I know that this means the job hunt will be a lot longer and more frustrating than it really needs to be. But I really don't see the point of applying for a different job in the same general tier that I've already got. I have mastered the Way of the Food Service. What else have you got?

I had one phone call earlier this week. It was as an office assistant in a bookstore. The joys of a bookstore! Greater responsibilities! A consistent 9-5 schedule! Booyah!

We set up an interview, but then the HR lady called me back an hour later. She apologized, but an internal candidate she hadn't been aware of had come forward, and she felt she really had to interview him first. She may call me back, or she may not.

I'm whining, I know. If I were really serious about this, I could be going about this job hunt thing a lot more effectively. I think what it comes down to is that I am searching, but I am not quite desperately searching. Not yet, anyway.

You may remember my last job hunt. It started in March-ish. In July, I bought a new car, and then I suddenly stopped turning up my nose at a lot of potential ads, because I knew whining wasn't a luxury I had anymore. Two weeks later, I was a Fazolian.

What have I learned from this? Well, first of all, I learned that a desperate job hunt sometimes ends in food service.

No, wait. I learned that when I really have to, I can get a job with almost no effort. It may not be an ideal job, but I can get it. Yes, that's much better. If things get really REALLY bad at my current job, I can do it again.

In the meantime, sure, I'll keep my eye open for anything better. But, and this is important, I don't HAVE to settle this time. More money would of course be nice, but I'm doing ok right now.

I'm glad we had this little talk. I feel a lot better.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey