Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Titles are hard. Basically, this is another "week's worth of babble" thing. I can never think of a good title for those.
2005-11-01 11:15 a.m.

First of all, Ta-DAAA!

That's right. I am a Published Writer. Technically, of course, I've been a published writer for going on six years now. I've got this great editor named Me who has agreed to lovingly reproduce every single syllable I type. This is way cooler, though. Someone else thinks something I wrote is cool enough to put on his website! Hooray!

So, go there. Read my story. Tell me I'm a genius.

I've spent two days obsessively checking the site's forums, waiting for someone to say, "Yes, and that story "Using My Head" CHANGED MY LIFE. This J. Hoffman is clearly Someone To Watch." but it hasn't happened yet.

They're all thinking it, though. For reasons of their own, they have chosen to disguise their praise of me as a conversation about Harlan Ellison. I have to read each post pretty carefully, using numerology and encryption and such, but I'm pretty sure ALL those comments so far are really all about me.

(OK, no. Read my story, and then come back here and tell me how wonderful I am. If you all say stuff there, it will look like I begged all my friends to say nice things about me. I didn't do that. I'm nothing like that. Really.)
***
Halloween ended up being a lot cooler than I had expected. I closed every damn night all weekend long, but that just meant I never had to get up early the next day. I started partying at 1am, got drunk (or, too drunk), and went to bed around 5ish. Wake up at 2pm, rehydrate, and repeat.

I also got to spend a lot of time talking with Dale, which was nifty. Dale is in the LARP, which means I've technically known him for about three years, but really, I can't do too much more than recognise him out of a police lineup. "Yup. That is most definitely Dale right there." We've both thought for a long time that we'd maybe like to be more than just LARP acquaintances, so it was great to finally have a chance to sit down and talk. So we talked many, and it was good.
***
I need a new job. There was talk of hiring a new salaried manager, and then there was talk of training a new salaried manager for somewhere else, and I got confused. Now, I've got it. In a week, we will begin training Manager X, but he's going to actually be working in Onalaska. Simultaneously, (and this is where it gets confusing) Onalaska will be training Manager Y, who will eventually end up here.

As I understand it, the reasoning is that no one would respect Y if he suddenly showed up and expected to be treated as a Big Boss without actually knowing anything. This way, when he starts, he'll know enough that the employees will acknowledge that he actually can be In Charge, even though they never met him.

It would of course be much simpler to give the salaried position to say, an Associate Manager whom everyone already knows and loves. However, there must be some flaw in that line of reasoning that I'm just not seeing, because we're not doing that.

I shouldn't complain. I know I was hired off the street, instead of promoting a current associate to AM. (Somehow, I didn't rate the "don't let the associates see her as a moron" treatment, but that is a different rant entirely.) It's just really frustrating.
***
A few weeks ago, KC offered to help me with my job hunt. She found a few things the first day, and hasn't sent me anything since. Rijid is all, no, she said she would do this, she won't be mad if you remind her, but I feel guilty. "Hey! Remember that favor you said you would do for no reason except that it would make me happy? I want results NOW, damn you!"

So here I am, passive-aggressively reminding her. Hi, KC.

I've actually been checking a few sites on my own, of course, but I haven't found very much. I DON'T want any more food service, and I'd prefer to avoid retail, and I'm not qualified for anything else.

No experience. Starting pay of $12/hour or equivalent. Weekends off. Basically, I want a job at Delusional Fantasies, Inc. I'll work in their Figment Creation Department. Or maybe a construction gig, building castles in the air.

(Hmm. In the bio the BwS editors wrote about me, he suggested that 5 years of blogging probably gave me a lot of story ideas. I never really thought about it. I see this site as 90% whining. But that other 10% is maybe worth exploring. I have a lot of throwaway ideas. Maybe some of them shouldn't just be thrown away.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey