Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I worked many.
2005-10-18 10:36 a.m.

What have you been DOING? Are your fingers all broken, you can't put out an entry once in a while?

I usually do updates on my days off, and there hasn't been one of those for a while.

Dude. It's been almost THREE WEEKS.

Yes yes yes. I know. Technically, there was an honest-to-god weekend off in there somewhere, but I spent that out of town pretending to be a vampire. Eight straight days of work. Two days of LARP. Seven straight days of work.

I managed to do laundry yesterday, and then I spent most of the rest of the day just staring into space and dribbling.

I woke up today and felt really AWAKE for the first time in three weeks. So now you get an entry.

***
The LARP was pretty awesome, actually. It was another one-shot, but this time it was a two-day event, and everyone was assigned two characters. My vampire made a really dumb tactical mistake, and only lasted about three hours. (Note to self: Keith plays a lot of open, easygoing characters. All of them are MUCH smarter than they seem, because Keith is actually pretty damn clever.) So, that sucked, but since it was night, my mortal character could actually begin playing out all of her stuff, which directly involved two vampires. I had a lot of fun, and Dominika the Ghoul accomplished all her goals.

Last Tuesday, I wasn't technically working, either. I drove to Appleton for a Fazolian Management seminar. It was called Serv-Safe, and I now know far far more than anyone really should about Salmonella and Trichnosis. I know three different ways to identify the presence of cockroaches. I know the correct procedute for handwashing. After eight hours of this stuff, I got to take a test. Even though I wasn't at work, this was probably the most hardcore day in the last two weeks. I'm pretty sure I passed the test, but OHMYGOD what if I didn't?
***
Sunday afternoon, I was really at the end of my sanity. It had just been so damn long since I had a personal day, and I already know my schedule for Halloween weekend is the absolute worst it could possibly be, and I started crying. KC was great, and promised to find me a better job.

Yesterday, the very first thing she sent me was absolutely EVERYTHING I want out of a job. Weekends off? $30,000 a year? FOR WRITING??? (Ok. writing and editing advertising copy.)

I sent them an application immediately. In my cover letter, I think I managed to present a restaurant as the ideal training ground for absolutely anything. The fact that I can do that should be proof that I can sell anything, right? I can write persuasive copy like nobody's business, and it's all correctly punctuated, too.

Of course, I've already begun fantasizing about getting Rijid back in school and buying a few dozen gold-plated ponies. This isn't good, I know. I'll just be disappointed. But oh WOW. I could really do this. This is my dream job. I just hope They realize it.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey