Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

meh
2005-08-23 8:04 p.m.

It's my day off, which must mean I'm going to do laundry, pick up the living room, do the dishes, and then iron some work shirts. I have such an exciting life.

It's my own fault, I know. I was home yesterday by 5. I could easily have accomplished all of that last night, leaving today free for general slacking off. Instead, I chose to slack yesterday, which means today has to be the Grownup Day.

It's the repetition that really gets to me. I washed these exact shirts a week ago! How can they possibly need it again already?
***
I'm hungry. We don't have any actual food right now, just lots of ingredients. There is nothing that could be prepared and eaten in less than 5 minutes. (Strangely, under this system, a bag of chips would be considered "food" but the raw chicken breasts and uncooked pasta are not.) I don't want turn ingredients into food until Rijid wakes up, because I'm definitely not going to want to go through the whole cooking process twice.

Damn you, freakish night owl boyfriend! You won't be awake for hours and hours.
***
OK. Laundry is done. Dishes are done. Ingredients have been turned into food, and eaten. Of course, this means there are MORE dishes now, but not nearly as many as there were earlier today. I may wash those up later tonight, or I may not. The ironing still has to happen, but I think I'm going to wait on that. Angie usually calls on Tuesdays, and that will give me something to do when halfway through our conversation my cell phone needs to be recharged, and I'll have to stay within arm's length of the wall outlet.

So. That means I have nothing to do right now but talk at you. It's too bad I can't think of anything to say.
***
The Oregon Library just called. (Note for Paul, who is probably confused right now: "Oregon" in this sentence refers to a Ripon-sized town, about 10 minutes drive from my home.) I didn't get the job I wanted. Bummer. They had three positions available, all part-time, but only one of them was mornings. If hired, I could have asked for all night shifts at FaZuul, and it would have been great, but the library's idea of an afternoon shift meant I wouldn't have been able to keep my real job at all. I'm barely keeping ahead of the bills as it is. There's no way at all I could do it on 1/3 the money. Sigh.

I really thought I had a chance at this. I even started fantasizing about how great it would be, finally kicking the credit cards' asses, instead of just paying slightly more than the minimum each month FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE.

You thought I was depressed when I started this entry? Just you wait!

I guess you don't really need another Money/Job/Everything Sucks entry. Maybe next time I won't feel so mopey.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey