Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

There are no breadsticks, only FaZuul.
2005-07-19 10:19 a.m.

I am AWAKE. I got a ridiculous amount of sleep yesterday/last night to finally recover from the past week of late nights and early mornings, and now I'm drinking coffee. WOOOO COFFEE!!!

In about an hour, I can go run some errands, and then I'll try to convince myself to do some laundry, but right now I have nothing to do but be AWAKE. So, I will BE AWAKE AT YOU. Wheeee!
***
I started learning how to do schedules yesterday. The step I learned was the easy part, apparently. Head Boss Lady figures out the manager schedules on paper. Then, someone has to enter them into the computer. I did that. It was kind of like a boring video game. Create a bar. Make the bar nine hours long, and move it to the correct starting time. Go to the next day, and repeat.

Thursday, the scheduling manager will show me the rest of it. It seems to involve forecasting how many employees are required, looking at who's available when and who's actually trained to do what, and then doing the bar routine about fifty million times. Of course, the middle step is the only one that will transfer to my mythical Next Job, but I need to learn all of it. Soon, I will be able to say "I can do schedules" on my resume.

(I am reminded of a stand-up routine I saw on TV once. "My mom says I need to go back to school. 'Then you can say you're a college graduate.' I'm like, what, I can't say that now? I'm a college gagaygoowa! Damn, three credits short...")
***
The Oregon Library is again looking for a part time circulation desk worker. If they'd hired me a year ago, they wouldn't be having this problem.

I applied for this exact job about this time last year. They said they had decided not to fill the position till the fall, and keep checking the ads until I saw it posted again. In the fall, I saw the ad, and resent an application. They called to thank me, and said they remembered my interview, but the ad should have been pulled a week earlier because the position was already filled. Now, it's back again. Will they think I'm a crazy person if I apply yet AGAIN? If I don't get it this time, I will stop applying there. Maybe.

The paranoid part of me is also wondering if maybe this should be filed in with all the other places I've stopped applying at, on the grounds that I see the same position open every few months. If no one else in town can work at Job X for more than two months, I probably wouldn't want to either. This seems like remarkably shrewd reasoning on my part, but this time, it's a library. I think I'm prepared to take a lot more shit from a library than from almost any other job on the planet.

Of course, that's only one of many issues this job might bring with it. It's only part time, and only $8/hour. I'd simply have to keep at least 30 hours a week at Fazooli's (Lookit me, outsmarting the search engines! Hee.) and I'd be happier with 35. The hours the library is looking to fill don't mesh with my current schedule AT ALL.

Also, Oregon is about 20 minutes away, but in the opposite direction from my current job. I'd need about an hour of travel time to do both jobs in the same day. Would The BreadStick Place be willing to accomodate me? I'm pretty hot stuff, you know. I do schedules and everything. Of course, since it is part time, it's only 4 days a week. That leaves three days each week that I can be All About the Breadsticks, and only two days that would have to be funky. The current Larval Manager shoud be certified in about two weeks, and I think there's another new one starting in about a month. That should all mean a little more schedule flexibility. Hmmm.

OK, I just sat down and figured it out. Because FaZuul's (I'm having WAY too much fun today, thinking of anti-search engine pseudonyms. Thanks to Dad, for putting the idea in my brain. THERE ARE NO BREADSTICKS, ONLY FAZUUL!! Hee.) scheduling week runs from Thursday to Wednesday, and because the library has a monthly schedule, slightly different every week, I think it breaks down to a worst possible case scenario of only one funky day each week. It could even be a different one every week, if necessary. That's totally do-able. Now all I have to do is actually get this dream-job.
***
I've been here a long time. I should probably get the real stuff I have to do today started.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey