Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

A Tale of Two Kitties
2005-06-22 12:57 p.m.

There's not too much to report on that front, actually. It was just such a clever title that I couldn't resist using it. I'm the first person in the entire history of the Internet to think of it, too.

Seriously, the cats seem to be assimilating nicely. The bedroom door is open 24/7 now, and they both come and go as they please. There is still a litter box in my closet, but Moussa has expressed interest in using the larger, better ventilated one in the bathroom, and George doesn't seem to mind.

(Stimpy was wrong. George's true "first material possession" that he
absolutely will not share with anyone is his food dish. That's fine. I'd be open to the idea of hundreds of food dishes scattered in every room of my home, if it meant I could get the box o shit and piss away from all of my nice clothes.)
***
I got to conduct an interview at work yesterday. Head Boss Lady sat down at a table with this girl, and then one of the other salaried managers told me I should ask if I could sit and listen in. HBL said that I should go into the interview binder, and grab the flip book of suggested questions.

I felt bad for the girl, whose name was Rose, but she seemed to handle being thrown into this situation with me surprisingly well.

Me: Um...*flipflipflip* Tell me three things your current employer would say about you.

Rose: Well, I'm definitely a team player, I like learning new stuff, and I'm very reliable.

Me: *checks to make sure these are all listed as "acceptable" answers in the flip book. Suffers a brief fit of paranoia that Rose can see the flip book, and is just reading the right answers back. Covers flip book.* OK, good, good. *flipflipflip* Ooh, here's a good one...

I kept the tone very casual, mostly because that seemed the best way to disguise the fact that I had no clue what the hell I was doing. Rose took it all in stride. I liked her. I'm pretty sure HBL did too. When Rose asked what the pay rate was, HBL said we could offer her something "competitive" with her current job.

HBL suggested I spend some time familiarizing myself with the flip
book, so I wouldn't have to be reading
directly from it next time. I will be conducting some "first interviews" now, and making the decision on whether a salaried manager would even want to talk to this person or not.
***
It's very warm here again today. I don't work until five, so I'm
thinking that as soon as I wrap this up and maybe do the dishes, I'll go swimming. This is a small apartment, with a ridiculously small kitchen. I know we won't want to stay here forever. But the pool is almost enough to make me want to overlook the inconveniences.
***
This entry started as a letter to my parents. It's an interesting sociological study, to see the things that changed slightly between formats. Interesting to me, anyway. Basically, I changed my boss' name to HBL for continuity reasons, and took out the actual name of the place I work. I have a totally irrational fear of someone Googling the name of my restaurant and finding this journal.

I guess that's not actually very interesting at all. Time for swimming.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey