Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Mini-rant, and Ep 3
2005-05-24 11:05 a.m.

It's Tuesday, which means it's my kind of day off, which means it must be time to update again.

I'm never scheduled for Tuesdays. But, tonight at 8pm, I have to go in to work anyway, for the manager meeting. I've given this a lot of thought, and I think it sucks slightly more than working on Tuesday nights.

If I was working, there would be a lot of pre-closing stuff that wasn't getting done, and I would end up staying at work longer, to do all the stuff I couldn't do during the meeting. But, since I stay on the clock until everything is done, it's all good.

Instead, my entire day off is overshadowed by the fact that I have to leave for work at 7:30 tonight. Rijid works 3rd shift, and won't even wake up until 4 or so. By the time I'm home from the meeting, he's on his way to work.

Sometimes, the meeting is only 20 minutes. It almost never goes more than an hour. But, I have to be there.
***
I saw a movie Sunday night. I think I finally get the whole "Best Movies EVAR!" thing.

Yes, I am a child of the 70's. No, I didn't particularly like Star Wars. I'm sorry.

I saw the first one, and thought it was kind of ok. I think I saw bits of the other two as rentals, but they didn't hold my interest. As soon a non-muppet scene started, I was outta there. I didn't actually sit down and watch the movies until my mid-20's.

When I finally saw them, the effects were 20 years old, and looked it. My friends were all, "See? SEE!! Star Wars RULES!" My basic impression was, "OK, you were four years old when you first saw this movie, and at the time, it was really pretty awesome for you. I can respect that. But come on. It's cheesy as hell now, and you know it."

And then I saw Phantom Menace. The effects were amazing, but the dialogue. The plot holes. The Jar Jar. The second movie was more of the same, but with less mind-blowing CGI.

Ah, but this movie. SPOILER ALERT (Though why I'm even bothering with an SA, I don't know. It's been out for a almost a week now. If you haven't seen it already, you're probably not the kind of obsessive fan who will be bothered by a few spoilers.) It had a ROBOT with FOUR LIGHTSABERS!! FOUR! It had R2D2, kicking ass! Dude. It had an entire scene on a PLANET. OF. LAVA.

Ok, yeah. The dialogue was still cringe-worthy in places. I strongly suspect there was no real plot justification for the fight between Anakin and Obi-Wan to be on a lava planet. ("My final stand with my Jedi master must take place on the coolest-looking planet in the galaxy...") And why the hell was that robot coughing?

I was willing to forgive all of that, though, because the view from Anakin's room was just that breathtaking. For the first time, I saw a SW movie, and I didn't check my watch once. I think I could watch it again in the near future.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey