Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Job hunt? Again? But I haven't recovered from the last one yet!
2005-05-03 1:01 p.m.

I don't work today, but I get to go in tonight and clean, on my own time. Tomorrow is Restaurant Evaluation Day, and since Regional Manager Man was pissy the last time he visited, our CORE Validation is at stake. As far as I can tell, the only real value to CORE Validation is a yearly bonus for salaried staff.

I'm wracking my brains, and the closest I can come to any real motivation for this is that salaried managers with bonuses are maybe more pleasant to work with. We mere AM's? No bonus.

I've started learning some salaried manager stuff. I am now responsible for weekly safety inspections, entering the budgets (I don't really get this. The numbers are e-mailed in from somewhere. I enter them into our computer, and e-mail them back. I'm not totally sure I understand why whoever sends them to me needs me to do this busywork step), and assisting a salaried manager with training.

Everyone keeps saying I'm totally On My Way, The Next Big Thing, etc. But. But but but. I think one of the currently salaried staff would have to go away first. Also, right now, the first priority is training at least one more AM.

I think that what I need to do is wait. IF this happens, it would be truly a remarkable thing to put on a resume. "In just one short year, our intrepid heroine rose from random schmuck off the street to become the Alpha and Omega of all things Fazolian. Surely she is now prepared for a management position with a little dignity?"

However, I can't just ignore the possibility that this might not happen within a year, or ever. I'll just keep getting more responsibilities, and stay at an hourly pay with shitty benefits.

In August, I will have been at this job for one year. In August, I will honestly assess my prospects for advancement. If they aren't any better than they are right now, I will (whimper) begin The Job Hunt.

Or, maybe I'll wait till the following spring. My winter coat isn't very professional-looking. Isn't it better to do the interview thing when my seasonal wardrobe is at its peak?

I HATE job hunting. Even four months of mentally prepping myself doesn't seem like enough. Ideally, someone comes into Fazoli's one night, and just offers me a job. "You do not belong here," he says. "Come with me." And then he gives me My Dream Job. Sometimes, he rides into the "restaurant" on the back of a dragon, and his coat is blue smoke.

OK, probably not. I know I'm being ridiculous. I'm only about 20% serious about the dragon part. If I want a new job, I will actually have to seek one out. Job hunts suck SO much though.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey