Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

A fool and her money....
2005-02-22 10:35 a.m.

This whole week has been kind of odd. I've had money. $300 of extra cash didn't seem like a lot when I was pricing big things like video cards and couches, but for just bopping around money, it's actually quite a bit. Ever since last Wednesday, I've been all, "Man, I wish I had ____. Oh, wait, I've got money! I'll go BUY it!!"

"This couch Rijid bought actually could look a little nicer. What I need is some leather furniture restorer."

"I'll go BUY it!"

"Now that I've got a real couch, I see how sadly lacking in tables this living room really is."

"I'll go BUY some!"

"This table looks like ass. It needs to be varnished."

"TO THE HARDWARE STORE!"

"Oh, look. George knocked Rijid's toothbrush into the litterbox again."

"SHOPKEEP, BRING ME SEVERAL DOZEN OF YOUR FINEST TOOTHBRUSHES!"

"Man, these sheets of mine really kind of suck."

"NEW SHEETS FOR EVERYONE! FOR I HAVE GONE MAD MAD MAD WITH MY MODERATE AMOUNT OF SPENDING POWER!"

"Varnish helped the table a lot, but it could be so much more. KC was talking about mosaics the other day. I wonder...."

"BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!"

So, Sunday after work, I stopped in the small craft store on the other side of Fazoli's parking lot. I bought their entire stock of .75" tiles, appoximately 60-80. I knew this wouldn't be enough, so I also bought a few small square mirrors. This also was probably not enough, but what the hell. There are a lot of craft stores. I can buy more tiles tomorrow.

It wasn't even close to enough. I didn't have enough tiles to do even one edge of the table.

KC said that if I was willing to wait a week, she could mailorder mass quantities of tiles for me, and then she could help me work out a design. I'm a moron, so I took offense at this.

She is actually a very talented artist. When I need something drawn, I'll go to her every time. She actually enjoys sewing projects, so when I want something more extensive than a button or an unravelled seam, I'll throw money at her, and we'll both be happy. But this is fucking mosaic. It's like a free-form jigsaw puzzle. I can do this. I don't need her help.

"I am made of money now. I shit out twenty dollar bills. I don't need you or your stinkin reasonably priced tiles. TO THE HOBBY LOBBY!!"

I bought about 200 more .75" tiles, and some more mirrors, and two cool-looking pre-cut gecko mosaics, and a few baggies of teeny tiles, you know, just to fill in the corners.

I got home, and realized I now had enough tiles, mirrors, and lizards to cover approximately 1/3 of the table. I still refused to admit that I was an idiot, and went to Home Depot in search of larger tiles. 20 or so 2" tiles will make it all better.

I had now spent about $100 on this project, and I still didn't have enough tiles. This was about when I finally realized how insane I was. I scraped off all the tiles that had been glued down, and decided the table actually looked OK just the way it was.

This is after all, a table in my home. In about a week, the kipple will be six inches high, and I'll never actually see the surface of this table ever again.

I'm not really sure what I'm going to do with all these damn tiles. I'd sell them to KC, but if she can get them much cheaper, she probably wouldn't be interested. I probably have enough tiles to cover the top of my small bookcase. Or maybe I'll just keep them in a dish on the unadorned table forever, just to remind myself not to be so impulsive and foolish ever again.

I don't really think of myself as an impulsive person. For most decisions, I worry, and fret, and obsess. But every few months, I seem to need to do something boneheaded.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey