Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Whine, and winos. Oh, I'm clever.
2005-02-10 1:18 p.m.

Just sort of wasting time today. Paychecks did not arrive yesterday, so I couldn't take mine home with me and save a trip all the way out there today. "All the way" is only about a 20-minute drive, but it's still frustrating. I can't remember if mail comes there by 2 or by 3, so I won't go till 3.

And, then I'll come home and pay some bills, and be poor again for another two weeks. Sigh. In about two years, I'll have spending money.

My tax return will be decent, but that's mostly spent already too. George needs shots, the car needs oil, I need birth control. I want a printer cartridge and new socks and something else that I can't remember offhand. (Curtains would be nice. Just now, I taped a piece of paper to the exact spot where sunlight was hitting my monitor screen through the venetian blinds. I must type quickly now, before the sun's angle changes too much and I have to move the paper.) All of that leaves me with roughly $300, and I really want a couch. I'm thinking of spending no more than $100 on a used couch, so I can then decide if I would rather have a new video card or a book orgy as my one "fun" thing out of all the extra money.

Money sucks.
***
And now for something completely different:

KC and I have come up with the most amazingly amazing plan ever.

Alcohol Relationship Therapists. Our slogan is, "A Shot of Reality." It's very simple. You pay us $100 per person, per hour, for a night of babysitting and catharsis.

We come to your house, with alcohol. Before getting started, all concerned parties will have presented us with a list of goals for the evening, and a list of completely taboo subjects. We provide the alcohol, and once your inhibitions are sufficently lowered, you get it all out in the open. Our job is to make sure none of the bad topics get broached, but all the things you really want to say but lack the nerve to say sober get said.

The idea still needs a lot of work. we should probably send two counselors on each assignment, just to keep everything as impartial as possible. Each counselling team should have one person brawny enough to take out either drinker, if necessary, and one trained relationship therapist. Also, both counselors will need to be licensed bartenders who have taken the "responsible beverage service" class. We want to help people, not put them in comas.

As part of the application process, you must submit your height, weight, preferred beverage, and standard alcohol consumption. We will review the goals and taboos of each participant, and determine whether or not we can help.

It wasn't part of the original discussion, but it's just now occured to me, this might make a great reality TV show. Would you watch total strangers get stupidly drunk and reveal their deepest feelings? Even if you won't admit that you would enjoy that sort of thing, I'm sure you know someone who would.

Hmm. Would making it televised discourage the people who need our services most from applying? The next time KC and I get drunk together, we will have to discuss this in more depth.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey