Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Little boxes
2004-12-29 11:11 p.m.

(It occurs to me that this is really kind of a boring entry. I spent most of last night doing something intrinsically boring, and watching me do it would have made you want to hit yourself in the head repeatedly with a hammer just so you didn't have to watch it anymore. Or, maybe hit me with the hammer, if you're more logically oriented. The point is, I wrote it all out just now, and then I realized that absolutely NO ONE would want to read this. Sorry about that. These things happen sometimes.)

My whole life, I have had an unhealthy obsession with tiny little boxes. You can put stuff in them, and then your stuff is, like, INSIDE the box, and some anal-retentive part of me finds the whole concept endlessly fascinating.

I have so many tiny little boxes. Felt-lined jewelry gift boxes. Cardboard jewelry boxes. Metal cigarette tins. I even have several cardboard match boxes that play an important role in my grand organization scheme. Don't even get me started on the Altoids tins. I had to stop buying Altoids eventually. I had half a dozen identical little metal boxes and I was running of stuff to put in them and it was stressing me out.

The reason I bring all of this up is that for Christmas, Rijid got me the best, and worst possible gift ever. (This isn't The gift, that I was so worried about. That turned out to be a Dr. Zoidberg T-shirt. He had to special order it, because for reasons beyond my comprehension, there simply is no Dr. Zoidberg merchandise readily available. I ask you, HOW can this be? We claim to be a civilized and rational society, but without plentiful images of Dr. Zoidberg, civilization is revealed as nothing but a shallow mockery. But I digress.)

Rijid got me another jewelry box. It's amazing. It looks like a little wardrobe. It has two long cabinets for hanging necklaces, and four adorable little drawers. I hated him for giving it to me, because it meant I would have to go through ALL of my jewelry, and reorganize. FOUR adorable little drawers! I had to find FOUR completely new kinds of jewlery that weren't already cleverly and meticulously put in a tiny little box somewhere.

That was what I was thinking when I opened the gift. Last night, I finally started this project, and quickly realized that I was thinking about this all wrong. In fact, what I actually need is more little boxes. A LOT more.

Numerous little boxes were indeed freed up. Most of my necklaces are hanging on little hooks now, instead of in assorted little boxes, or in scary tangled knots in slightly larger little boxes. But, every single box that got emptied was almost instantly filled with something else. I have a box of loose buttons. I have a box of paper clips, and a box of dice. Dude. I have a box of random keys. I have no idea what any of these keys do. A sane person would just throw them out. But then I'd have an empty box, and that's just not cool. So they're in a little box now, and it's all good.

I spent almost three hours last night, turning into every crazy old lady in the world. I knew that I had left sanity in the dust a long time ago, but I just couldn't stop.

The worst part is, I'm not done. I see now how much I desperately needed another jewelry box. My necklaces are all nicely sorted. But the earrings are totally out of control.

I deliberately didn't even look at the earring box while I was organizing. My earring box was a gift my Grandpa made for me 20-something years ago. I knew that no matter how much I love Rijid, I couldn't let his gift replace Grandpa's. So, I concentrated on all the rest of my jewelry instead.

Compared to the new necklace box, the earring box is complete chaos. Just thinking about organizing it makes my brain hurt. I probably won't have another anal-retentive fit like this for years.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey