Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

On the first day of Angstmas, my true love gave to me...
2004-12-08 2:52 p.m.

I just realized something kind of odd. So far, almost everything I'm planning on buying for Christmas gifts this year is a DVD. I said unto the multitudes, hey, I need ideas here! And, as one, every person I shop for sent back a list of movies or TV series.

In past years, I would have totally worked this up into a major neurotic snit. "OK, Dad wants this movie, so I can't get Mom any of the movies SHE wants, because that will be lame and I'll look unoriginal" and then I'd spend weeks stressing about what to get my Mom since I couldn't possibly get her what she had specifically asked for. It's rough, living inside my brain sometimes.

This year, though, I'm just going with it. It actually ties it perfectly with my plans. I get paid next Thursday. Done with work at 4. Check cashed by 4:07. In Borders by 4:12. DONE with shopping by 4:36. Maybe 4:38, if there's a line. I RULE.

OK, it's not quite that simple. There's still Rijid's family. But, I've got a whole extra week to deal with that, and maybe by then, he'll have some ideas.

The main shopping obstacle this year is Rijid himself. Last night, he was all, "I picked out your present today. You'll never guess what it is, because it is completely unique and perfect for you, and you'll love it." How the hell am I supposed to compete with that?

I know, I know, that's not supposed to be the point. But it kind of is. He's getting me this incredibly meaningful Something. It seems rude somehow, to settle for anything less than The Perfect Gift. Even before he said anything, I wanted to get him something special, whateverthehell that means, and now there is no easy way out of this. "Here's some mittens. Now siddown and shut up!" is not an option anymore.
***
I got distracted by something shiny, and haven't written anything for about an hour. I think I'm done now. Here. Have a link.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey