Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

TO-ga! TO-ga!
2004-10-30 10:28 a.m.

I have to work tonight. Till midnight. Tomorrow I work at 11am. There is absolutely no way Tau Halloween can be part of my world this year.

I haven't missed a Tau Halloween since 1992. That's really odd, when I think about it.

OK, yeah. I'm 30 years old. Partying with college students shouldn't be one of my main priorities anymore. People younger than me have already moved on. Every year, there's less people I know.

But this is Tau Halloween. Not even italics can fully demonstrate just what a magical night tonight is going to be. It's like Formal, but with more interesting outfits. It's the Platonic ideal of a college party.

(I guess technically, the Platonic ideal of a college party would almost have to be a Toga party. *Silence* Plato wore togas, ya see. *Crickets chirping* Hey hey! Wocka wocka! TO-ga! TO-ga! TO-ga!! Am I right? Am I right? The ladies know what I'm talking about! *Uncomfortable shuffling noises* Thankyou you guys have been great enjoy the buffet!)

So, yeah. I'm a little bummed out. I'm trying to tell myself that this is Growing Up. Moving On. It's just another party. But (breaking out the italics again) it's Tau Halloween. Anything could happen. OK, yeah, probably it will just be a lot of 18-year-olds who get way too drunk way too early. But anything COULD happen, and I won't be there to see it.

Katie actually invited me to come check out the Madison party scene tonight, but again, I work till midnight, and I have to get up relatively early tomorrow. Growing up sucks.


previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey