Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Work and Sims, AGAIN. Someday, I will have an entry that doesn't mention either of those topics.
2004-10-12 10:32 a.m.

I work in a strange place. As I understand it, they have the technology to forecast how many employees will be needed for a given shift. Since 90% of the workforce is high schoolers, they often run short of people to fill the daytime shifts. This looks like a job for Associate Manager!

So, sometimes, I end up with a 2-3 hour worker drone shift in addition to my normal management shifts. That's fine. I actually kind of enjoy the conversations I have on those days:

"Ana, I need more singles!"
"Ana, how do you do this?"
"Ana, the very extremely angry man over there wants to talk to a manager!"

"Don't look at me, dude. I'm not a manager today. I left my professional looking shirt and my brain at home. HA-ha!"

At least, that's the way the conversations go inside my head. I haven't actually had a chance to put any of this into practice yet, because EVERY TIME I'm scheduled for a mini-shift, the manager looks at how many people are scheduled, and decides at the last minute that there's already far too many people and gives me the day off.

Again, I'm not really complaining. I've never been one to snub a random day off. It just strikes me as odd that no one ever thinks of this until two hours before I'm supposed to show up.

It's not even like it's something that only happens to me. Most of my manager shifts, whoever the other manager is tells me as soon as I get there to start calling around, and find someone who wants a night off.

I am of course still unfamiliar with many of the subtler aspects of the Way of the Fazolian. Maybe this does all make sense. It just seems kinda loopy.
***
Sim Update, just because I know you care:

Baby Thor is an adult now. I went back to Beth, and realized she won't grow up for six sim-days. That's a really long time. For some reason, I thought she was only a day or two away. So, now I have to play that family for a while again.

Amanda drank a lot of the life-elixir, because I really wanted her to have time to get it on with Oberon, so she could have a fairy-baby. (Yeah, I'm a dork, playing the Shakespearian neighborhood.) Now she's finally pregnant, but poor John Paul will be elderly in just two days. His aspiration meter is shot to hell, because he caught Amanda cheating on him, so I'm afraid to give him life-elixir.

Yup. Life's pretty full.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey