Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I can't find my cigarettes. I hope I didn't pack them....
2004-08-29 10:33 p.m.

For a while today, I was convinced I had forgotten how to pack. I started by taking most of my clothes out of the dresser, and putting them in boxes. I was quite pleased with myself for accomplishing so much, but then I remembered that I had three hugeass suitcases, and now I had nothing to put into them. Then, I thought about it a little more, and realized I could have just left the damn clothes in the dresser. Take the drawers out for transporting, but save hours of actual work on each end.

This is perhaps a sign that I have been out of college for a long time. Back in the day, I was packing every six months. I lived here for a little more than four years. It's no wonder I'm out of practice.

I told KC about what a moron I was, and she suggested I fill my suitcases with towels and blankets. "No no no," I said. "This, I remember. Blankets are used as cushioning for large breakable stuff like computers and TV sets."

So, it took a few hours, but I did eventually get In The Zone. I have A LOT of dishes. I bought a Sunday paper, used ALL of it, and bought another one. (This was also somewhat dumb. Most of the breakables are packed. I could probably have gotten the rest done with a weekday paper, and saved a dollar. But once you're In The Zone, there is no stopping. I'd told myself I would get as much packing done today as possible, and it was worth a dollar to me to actually accomplish that.)

It looks like I did a lot today, but there's still a fair chunk left to do. I am maybe 80% packed, but at least most of the painintheass stuff is done. Wednesday, I only work three hours (I'll of course spend almost that long commuting there and home, but that is a rant for another time.) and I'll be able to pack most of what's left.

Friday, I'm outta here. CJ says I can borrow his truck for the big stuff. I have to buy gas, and if he has to work Friday, I have to loan him my car in exchange. Even if it takes two trips, that's still more reasonable than renting a U-Haul.

***

I just realized what time it is. I should really be sleeping now.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey