Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Lynne, take note: GRANDMA'S BIRTHDAY IS MAY 16
2004-07-14 11:24 a.m.

Yesterday was my birthday. I scored one gift I don't get to keep, some slightly used shoes, and one pissed off Grandma. Thirty sucks.

OK, it wasn't quite that bad. Rijid got me some cool stuff, and my sister called to say there was something in the mail. Also, there was many shopping money, and that's always nifty. But, really. The bad stuff was really pretty awful.

When my parents' neighbor turned 30, they got him a *something* with a "HA-ha, you're old!" motif. This was 10 or so years ago, and when he moved last spring, he decided the *something* really wasn't very relevant anymore. He left it in a pile of stuff for my mom to drop off at Goodwill. My mom realized she would have a daughter turning 30 soon, and rescued the *something*. I'm not going to say what the *something* is, because I was specifically instructed to hold on to it, to pass on to my little sister when she turns 30. So, yeah. This *something* is probably going to stop being amusing in my day to day life in a few months, but then I still have to hold onto it for FIVE MORE YEARS. Thanks, Mom!

A few months ago, Rijid asked me why I have so many pairs of nearly identical sandals. I told him it was becasue my grandma is insane. Grandma buys sandals, see. She wears them once or twice, and then she remembers that she doesn't really like sandals. I have the same size feet as Grandma, so the sandals get passed on to me. When I told all this to Rijid, he gave me a strange look. Yesterday at my parents' house, he actually got to hear the "Hey, I bought sandals again!" speech, so at least now he knows that I'm not the crazy one. It's all good, though. Mildly insane foot-fetishist Grandma is the least of my troubles.

My other Grandma called my mom a few hours into the festivities. Apparently, since no one even sent her a birthday card this year, she wasn't going to be celebrating anyone's birthday anymore. "Make sure you tell Jenny that's why I'm not there." So, Mom took me into the kitchen and told me. She also made sure to point out that Grandma had probably had an extra pre-dinner cocktail or three, and has been manifesting other kind of scary paranoid tendencies lately.

It still hurt, though. OK, yeah, I should have sent her a card. If I had known, and if I was in the habit of sending cards to people, it would have been the right thing to do. There is logically no reason to expect her to send me something for nothing. But she's my grandma! What happened to unconditional love? No, that's not fair. I should have known, um, even though I didn't.

And that's about where things are. I do feel shitty about forgetting her birthday, but I'm honestly not sure if I need to feel quite this bad about it. Meh.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey