Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I am in fact that aware the "resume" is supposed to have some accents in it, but I can't figure out how to make them. Maybe this is why I haven't been hired yet....
2004-05-12 11:05 p.m.

Jared and I drove down to Madison the other day. I had the idea that seeing paper want ads would be better than trying to find a job online. I'm not entirely sure why I thought that. I found a total of two job listings that I might have a shot at.

It felt better, somehow, though, to physically put a resume in an envelope and put it in the mail. It didn't feel quite so much like just shooting a stream of data into nothingness. They are going to have actual physical proof of me. They can't deny it.

Perhaps right now, They are clutching my resume in Their hot and sweaty fists. Perhaps They are rubbing my resume all over Themselves, thinking yes, God, yes yes YES! A paper resume! Ana Ng loves us! Ana Ng thinks this job is worth 37 cents! Let's hire her RIGHT NOW!!!

OK, perhaps not.

***

Job hunts are so depressing. I keep trying to push the hey, if you can wait tables, you can do absolutely anything angle. So far, They seem uninclined to believe me.

Hell, I'd hire me. You say you want someone who can work well under pressure? Talk to the waitress. You want someone who can multitask? I am the Queen of Multitaskosity, my friend. You want disciplined, organized, and always has a pen? You're looking at her. You want experience?

.

.

.

Uh, did I mention I always have a pen?

And that's about where things are. Or, at least that's what it looks like from here. Maybe they'll all start calling me tomorrow. Maybe one person will call tomorrow. Maybe They've been trying to call all week, but I was dumb and mistyped my phone number on every single e-resume; I've done so far.

Wow. It's probably best all around if I just pretend I never even thought that.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey