Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

This is in fact my beautiful home, and my beautiful life. Who knew?
2004-03-10 9:40 a.m.

Someone famous once said something about how everyone eventually turns into what they hate. (Maybe it was Nietzsche, or am I thinking of Carrot Top? It was someone famous, anyway.) I seem to be turning into a morning person, with a relatively clean house.

It's not even 9:30 in the AM, and I am brighteyed and cheerful. How can this be? Well, because I passed out at like 2:30 last night, because I was also up ridiculously early yesterday. This is an unsettling trend. An hour too early this week, and before I know it, I'll be complaining about being up past my bedtime at like 7:30. Perhaps tonight, I'll force myself to stay up till 4am, just because.

Actually, that's kind of a dumb idea. Look at me, here. I'm writing and stuff. When I stay up late, I get more of a chance to socialize with everyone I know, but I really do accomplish a lot more when I live La Vida Morning.

And I'm not one of those hardcore morning people, at least not yet. I'm a mid-to-late morning person. You always hear about morning people vs. night people as if those were the only two options. Either you go to bed around 5 am, or you get up then. Leave it to me to be something entirely new.

***

My home is clean. Actually, it's not. I straightened up some yesterday, so it's not disgusting, but there's kipple absolutely everywhere. I swear, I used to have tables around here somewhere. But, it's comfortable.

A bunch of people on the message board I'm spending far too much time on were posting pictures of their living rooms yesterday, and I realized something. I appreciate the effort that goes into a tastefully decorated and perfectly maintained home, but it's just not for me. Those kinds of places make me a little nervous, actually. I'm always afraid I'm going to spill something.

A long time ago, my cousin Anne descibed my apartment as "it looks just like a dorm room." This was waaay back when I lived in Milwaukee, and I've got slightly better furniture now, but I think the comparison would still hold.

None of my furniture matches, and 90% is from thrift stores. But, it's all comfy. There's an overstuffed bookshelf in the corner. The entertainment center is slowly being overrun with origami. There's a penguin on my telly. There are toys and shiny things everywhere, and a purring cat.

I'm not entirely sure where I'm going with this, but I really should wrap it up and get ready for work. Give me a minute.

I'm becoming a morning person, but not a scary one, so that's ok. I'm getting more inclined to pick up after myself, and overall, my home is exactly what I want it to be. Goooo, me!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey