Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Soup and Sims
2004-02-26 11:10 a.m.

I'm full of coffee, and I can't really do anything productive with today for at least another hour. Eventually, I plan to go to the bank and then write a rent check, but I realized that if I waited until I also had a bookstore check to deposit, I could pay a few bills right away too.

Ooh, yeah. That right there equals comedy gold.

Hmm. I worked at the restaurant yesterday.

Me: Hi, how are you today? I'll be back to get your order as soon as I can, but just so you know, the soups today are cream of broccoli and chicken shell.

Customer #1: What's chicken shell?

Me: It's like chicken noodle, except the noodles are shaped like little shells.

Customer #2: What are your soups today?

Me: The soups today are cream of broccoli and chicken shell.

Customer #2: I'll have the creamy chicken.

Me: (Blink. Blink.) The soups today are cream of broccoli and chicken shell.

Customer #2: What did you say the other soup was, again?

Me: The soups today are cream of broccoli and chicken shell.

Customer #3: What's chicken shell?

Me: It's just like chicken noodle, but the noodles are shaped like little shells.

Customer #4: I'm sorry. I wasn't listening. What are your soups?

Me: (Deep breath.) The soups today are still cream of broccoli and chicken shell.

I swear to God, this was a real conversation I got to have yesterday. And then I had a similar conversation with the next two tables. Keeeerist, people. I'm not just talking for my own sake. I already know what the fucking soups are.

I'm trying to do my job, and frankly, I'm kind of busy right now, so everything I say is probably something you need to hear. Don't make me repeat it. You're just embarrassing both of us.

***

I'm not totally sure how I did it, but I think I finally have the spare cash to buy Josh's old motherboard. In theory, this means I can get le computer to play The Sims.

When I got this computer, I was so happy. I had The Sims on Jared's machine, of course, but I felt bad about it. That's his computer. It's not fair for me to be tying it up all the time, preventing him from playing his games.

My very first act was to get ICQ and The Sims off of his computer and onto mine. ICQ worked, but The Sims, alas, did not. I could play the original game no problem, but the computer balked at all the expansions.

I tried, briefly, to feed my addiction with just the base game, but it was so unfulfilling. What do you mean, I only get 30 different wallpapers? And where's my vibrobed? And the hookah? That's no way to live. I can't let my Sims suffer like that any longer.

Yeah, whatever, you're thinking. It's not like they know what they're missing. But I can tell. Their little pixelated eyes speak volumes. "I feel, somehow, that my life could be so much more," they say. "Oh, if only I had an electric guitar! Oh, if only there was a floor tile that truly expressed my inner soul!"

Not to worry, my tiny chums. Soon, the mighty Ana will make it all better.

***

So. If I deposit a mere $140, plus the rent money, I can pay rent, plus bills, plus $$ for Josh. Life is good. Next month, I get shoes, then memory and speakers. Booyah!

Jeez. When the car is paid off, and I really have extra money without even having to particularly scrounge for it, I won't even know how to deal. I will go mad, I tell you! Mad mad MAD with my moderate amount of power!



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey