Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Bookstore rant.
2004-02-14 4:12 p.m.

Alright, dudes. What's going down in Groovetown, then?

Not very much at all, really. I've recently become re-addicted to this damn message board again. I lost interest in the site years ago, but the other day, I was bored, and decided to peek in, and it's funny again. Now it even includes a high-tech ego-gratification system. I may be forced to quit a job or two, so I can live there.

(Shannon just stopped by with literally an armload of flowers for me. I have the bestest boyfriend ever.)

Where was I? Ah, yes.

I may be forced to quit a job or two soon in any case. The Northwestern is looking for a part time copy editor. My resume was in the mail within hours of learning this.

There's really no reason at all not to hire me for this. I've got a college degree, I can spell, and I am familiar with numerous punctuation marks. I'm disciplined, I'm organized, I always have a pen. Also, I ROCK.

Of course, it is only part time, so depending on what it pays, I'll probably have to work around at least one of my current jobs. I think I'd probably let the bookstore go. I've given this a lot of thought lately, and I think I like the idea of working in a bookstore more than the actual fact.

In theory, it's the ultimate slack job, getting paid to hang out and read. In fact, the bookstore is beginning to really annoy me.

The main problem is that I think I'm the only one there who understands how all the different sections are organized. Re-alphabetizing the biographies by subject, not by author, every few days is growing tiresome. It's really frustrating, because I know someone is going in and thinking, well, that's funny, I just did this the other day and now it's messed up again. NO, it's NOT. YOU screwed it up, I FIXED it. AGAIN.

I'm not entirely sure what crazy moon logic is used to sort the health section, but it's supposed to be alphabetized by name of disease. Arthritis, back pain, cancer, diabetes, etc. I'm not making this up! I am RIGHT. Look in the stock titles book, people.

See, if we keep the sections organized the same way as the stock titles book, maybe we can stop ordering How To Pick Up Girls every single month.

I'm so damn sick of seeing this book. It comes. I put it in the "Marriage and relationships" section (alphabetized by author) where it rightfully belongs. Someone sees it there, and decides it really should be in "Humor." The next time someone does the stock book, they can't find it in "Marriage and relationships" so they order two more copies. At one point, there were SIX copies of this book on the premises, because no one knew we had it, because it was in the wrong section.

The first few times, I felt all warm and fuzzy for being a good employee and catching stuff like this, presumably saving Bookworld Inc. thousands in incorrectly ordered merchandise. Now it's really starting to just piss me off. I spend entire shifts wandering the store, muttering "Dumbasses! Dumb. ASSES! Is everyone I work with retarded?"

The main problem is that I'm just anal-retentive enough to actually care about doing this job well. It's minimum wage. I don't really need to put forth any effort at all. If I went The Ken Route, and just read magazines all night, I'd be a lot less stressed out.

But I can't do that. I've got this idea in my brain that with just a little more effort, I could in fact get everything organized. It's driving me insane that my coworkers are constantly thwarting my efforts.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey