Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Digressions
2003-08-31 9:12 p.m.

So, yeah. My last one of these things was about two weeks ago. I kept hoping I'd come up with something brilliant to talk about, but I never did. Have an entry of babble instead. Hooray!

My grandfather died last week. My sister actually covered it a lot better than I could.

I don't know. When I found out, my only real reaction was feeling bad, because I didn't feel bad. Out of all the grandparents, this was the one I never really connected with. I'm sorry he's dead, because I know he did actually mean a lot to some people, but I'm afraid that's really about as far as I can go.

I had to work, so I missed the first two hours or so of the visitation. (Random thought: There was a Visitation, followed by a Memorial. Saturday, there was a Burial. Don't people have Funerals anymore?) My uncle is the principal at ONHS, so apparently I missed seeing a bunch of my old teachers come through. Ron was grilling my cousin for info about me. Scary.

(Another quick peripheral: Somewhere, Branden is reading that paragraph and doing a double take. She's related to WHO?? I think the rest of the Oshkosh LARP folk would have been before Uncle Jim's time, so they are probably not quite as freaked out. They can enjoy the Ron-stalking-me moment, though, which none of you Taus (except Hwaaah, of course) can do. Hmm. Now I'm torn. In the interests of protecting his anonymity and stuff, I don't want to give his full name on the big scary Internet. Michelle and I always called him Ron when he wasn't listening, but just saying Ron may not be enough to let you fully grasp the situation. We're talking about North Star adviser (spell it with an E) Ron. Everybody with me now? I graduated high school eleven fucking years ago! Granted, I was maybe the worstest newspaper editor ever, but that was eleven years ago! And he still remembers me! Scary, non?)

(Did you even know I was a co-editor of my high school newspaper? It's not something I talk about much now. I'm not Al Bundy here, still imagining my highschool glories are even a little bit relevant. My dad had a quote he said all the time my senior year. "In five years, no one will care where you went to high school, and in 10 years, no one will care IF you went to high school." At the time, I thought it was just another meaningless string of babble coming out of his mouth in a futile attempt to distract me from how much my life SUCKED, but he was right. I see that now. Score one for Dad.)

(This is turning into the longest digression ever. I sure am glad I didn't have anything important to talk about tonight.)

***

Right. So. Dead grandparents: Two. Dad: Much wiser than he seemed 10 years ago. Ron: Still has the power to freak me the hell out.

I think that's about it.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey