Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Whine #23,542
2003-07-17 11:52 a.m.

So, The Pig is closing at the end of the month. According to my estimates, 63.2% of my readers will know, or care, what that means. The rest of you guys, the Googled entry about BUTT LUST is right over here. (You will be disappointed. Sorry about that.)

Actually, that's not entirely true. I've got Taus, Googlers, assorted LARP folk, and strangely, even a few people who just seem to be regularly here, even though they don't know me at all. They come because they enjoy my writing. I love those readers most of all, and here I am, diminishing their importance just for the sake of a quick Google joke. I love you guys. Really.

The point is, if you're a Tau, The Pig is closing in a few weeks. I just thought you'd like to know. As the only remaining Taunie who updates regularly, I felt it was my civic duty to keep the rest of you who actually went out into the real world and found grownup lives informed.

It really sucks, actually. Besides being the grocery store that you go to if you're a colllege student with no car, it's become my main grocery store lately. I borrow the car from D. about once a week to do laundry. While I'm out, I go to Pick n Save and get most of my groceries, but I'm kind of a dumbass. I'll think to myself, "I think I want to make spaghetti this week. That means I need peppers, and mushrooms, and French bread." Then, I'll get home and realize I also need garlic and olives and onions and pasta and tomato paste. Not a problem. I'll stop at The Pig the next day, and pick up everything else. I won't be able to do that anymore.

Yeah, it's a pretty silly thing to whine about. I have heard of this strange magic that men call "shopping list." I'll have to try one of those sometime.

***

Right now, The Pig is looking pretty desolate. There is no produce, no dairy, no soda. It's pretty much been reduced to canned goods and cleaning supplies. It's all at 25% off, so I'm trying to get in there a few times a week to stock up.

That's the smart thing to do, but what I really want to do is spend every spare cent I can muster on books and DVD's. Saving money sucks. I will probably have a little more than $1000 by the end of the summer, but at the cost of my sanity. Part of me is actually hoping I don't get the Watertown gig, so I can treat myself to an Amazon frenzy of truly obscene proportions.

There are so many things I want. When D. went through the DVD's, he left me 3/4 of the things I thought for sure he'd take, but there are a lot of annoying gaps. I need the South Park movie, again. There is no Kevin Smith on the premises. NO KEVIN SMITH!! A day without Jay and Silent Bob is like a day without sunshine. I've still got Young Frankenstein and Fight Club and both Simpsons seasons, but NO KEVIN SMITH. And don't even get me started on the running list of things I've wanted for years, but haven't gotten around to picking up yet.

And the books! My 5.6 million books are getting lonely, and they need some friends. Seriously, I could spend $500 on books without even blinking.

I got a little money for my birthday, and I do in fact have several books and DVD's heading this way, but it's not enough. I'm tired of saving money. I want to live. LIVE, I tell you!

It would be totally different if I knew for sure about Watertown, one way or the other. If I knew for sure that I needed to save money to move, I would do it. If I knew I could start enjoying my life again, that would be disappointing, but at least I'd get the Amazon spree. Not knowing what I'll be doing in 3 months is making me insane.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey