Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Hot and Coffee
2003-06-25 2:22 p.m.

"So, hey."

"Oh, hi, Ana. What's up?"

"Well, to be brutally honest, Rijid and I are looking for somewhere to hang out that's air-conditioned."

Dammit. Now when it gets really hot, I'll have to think of a better reason to hang out with him.

I'm kidding, of course. I love the Hans, and would have wanted to hang out and play cards with him last night anyway. But you'll notice we went to his place last night, instead of inviting him here.

So hot! I took a cold shower last night before bed. I woke up this morning under the blankets. "Wow." I thought. "I am perfectly comfortable." I dressed in shorts and tank top just in case, and one hour later, I'm all sweaty. Damn you, summer.

I never should have left my bedroom. Don't tell Rijid, but my bedroom is actually five degrees cooler than the rest of the apartment. It doesn't sound like much, but it means that if I lie on my bed and don't move at all, it's almost comfortable.

Yeah, I know. If I'm complaining this much now, I'm going to be a puddle by August. And it is partly my own fault. I'm drinking steaming hot coffee this morning.

You don't understand. I need the coffee. I get headaches when I don't get caffiene every day. I used to be smart about it. The first few times I accidentally skipped the caffiene, and got the headache, I was all, "Well, this is one addiction I can control. I will suck it up today, have no coffee tomorrow either, and then I'll be fine." And it worked. But then one day I decided that just having the damn caffiene was much easier. Hmm. I could take an aspirin, and feel better in an hour or two, or, I could slam a can of Dew and have the headache magically go away in 10 minutes??

That was maybe a year ago. Now, I'm frightened of the caffiene headache. They get progressively worse, you know. My head just might explode if I try to quit cold turkey now.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey