Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I blame YOU.
2003-06-17 5:02 p.m.

Only TEN more shifts until I get a day off!! Wheee!

Look, shut up, ok? I am happy about this. It's so much less work to look forward to than it was four days ago. See, Restaurant Mary is on vacation this week, so I am the restaurant's biznitch. (Technically, I guess Linda is. She's getting up at some crazy time called "5 AM" every day this week because that's Mary's normal shift. I'm just covering Linda's shift while she's busy being Mary, if you follow me.) This isn't about Linda, though. For all I know, she enjoys the insanely early shift. I bet she does. She's funny that way.

No, my friends, the real tragedy here is that MY day has to start at 7 in the AM, SEVEN TIMES IN A ROW!!! That's no way to live.

Also, this is the week I'm randomly the bookstore's biznitch, too. I blame you for that. Yes, YOU.

If YOU weren't such a rabid Harry Potter freak, I would not be in nearly so much pain this week.

(Wait. I guess only 4, maybe 5 of my regular readers are into the Harry. You know who you are, and I hate you.)

Friday at midnight, the new Harry Potter comes out. There are lots of other books coming out this week too. But, that's the one that YOU have turned into an Event. It's just a book, goddammit!! But for that particular book, BookWorld will stay open all night long because there are people in the world who need to buy it 30 seconds after it goes on sale. Seriously. Would it kill you to know it had been sitting on a store shelf for eight whole hours before you owned it?

(The more I think about it, the more and more tenuous my reasoning gets. Even if you are one of the freaks who must have this book the instant it goes on sale, I'm guessing none of you will come to MY bookstore to buy it. You're still part of the problem, though. Whatever bookstore you end up going to, the employee who sells you your damn HP at exactly 12:01 AM does NOT want to be there, and rest assured, he or she hates you for it. Besides, you, as the only representative of HP-mania that I get the chance to bitch at must bear my wrath for everyone else. You're a real trooper, taking one for the team like this. Harry would be proud of you.)

So, Friday, I get to work at the bookstore till 11pm. I'm at the restaurant at 7 the next morning. I should be sleeping. I'd rather be drinking, like I usually do on Friday nights. But nooooo! I have to keep the bookstore open.

Patti will come in at 11, and actually handle the insanity of dealing with the rabid munchkins who need their HP fix. But, I'll be at the bookstore for three whole hours after the usual closing time. Word on the street is that the local library has a whole bunch of events planned for the kids until about 1130ish. So, there will be NO ONE in the bookstore. Just me, and a bunch of copies of HP, which I have to refuse to sell to anyone who asks. (I am now imagining people desperately trying to get me to sell them copies early. Maybe I'll get offered something interesting.)

So. I have to work till 11 Friday night, and it's all YOUR fault. Patti doesn't get paid for more than 40 hours, no matter how much she works, so tomorrow, I have to go in an hour earlier than normal so she can leave an hour early and work for an hour on Friday night. Also, YOUR fault.

Thursday, I have to stay until the carpet guy comes and cleans the carpet. This is something Patti asked me about a few weeks ago. I said, sure, no problem, an extra hour of pay, just for watching someone else work? Sign me up. It's probably just a coincidence that it's finally happening during the week that I'm already working far, far too much, but I'm going to blame you anyway.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey