Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Things my father told me
2003-06-15 4:02 p.m.

In honor of Father's Day, here are a bunch of quotes from my dad, to my sister and me during our formative years. If you already know my dad, none of this will surprise you. If you don't, maybe this can be regarded as a sort of explanation for why we turned out like we did.

"Why don't we go to church, Daddy?"

"Because church is nothing but lying old men."

True enough, but still pretty harsh stuff to spring on a six-year old.

"How was work, Daddy?"

"Work sucks. Marry money."

Hee. I must have heard this line a million times. Strangely, though, it doesn't seem to have sunk in...

"Watch out for old men driving big cars and wearing funny hats"

This was Dad's driving advice. It's scary how true it is. Nine times out of ten, the bonehead you see doing something unbelievably stupid behind the wheel will turn out to be an old guy in a funny hat. Check it out.

"I'm going out. I'll be back in an hour, unless I get a better offer."

I always imagined my dad's nightly walks as him encountering a continuous string of people with better offers than life with us, and I was always really relieved when he came back.

"The old guy who lives in the basement"

We had a kind of scary basement, very dusty and not a lot of light. My little sister was terrified of it. So, Dad told her one day that she should be scared, because there was a crazy old guy who lived down there, who liked to eat blonde little girls. I'm still not entirely sure if this was supposed to be reverse psychology, or if it was just Dad being evil. Lynne was scared of the basement for much of her childhood.

"Wheee! Stay away from drugs, kids!"

Every time Dad realized he had been caught doing something completely moronic, he would start to giggle, and tell Lynne and I to never ever experiment with drugs. Maybe it would have worked, if he didn't always seem so amused by his own screwups.

"Jesus Christ! Kids and dogs!"

This was a reference to a longer quote, basically that kids and dogs are both noisy and smelly creatures that no sane person would willingly associate with. Loosely translated, it meant, "Knock it off, whatever you're doing now is really starting to annoy me."

Heh. So, that's my dad. Happy Father's Day.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey