Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Hmmm
2003-05-01 8:45 p.m.

So, Bookstore Patti threw my whole life into chaos today. She said Regional Manager Kathleen wanted me to know that a new BookWorld would be opening in Watertown in the fall, and it would need a manager.

I am completely stunned and unable to parry.

I should apply. I really should. It would be an amazing opportunity. Wasn't Management of My Own Personal Bookstore the ultimate goal of me becoming a bookseller?

But. But but but. Watertown is about an hour away, and I have no car. This means that if I actually got it, I'd have to move, by myself, to a town I know nothing about.

I'd have to give up all the parts of my life that I actually like. I do in fact have a pretty decent life, I think. My jobs are both dead-end, but I have so many friends here. Now, I (maybe) have the chance to live the exact opposite life. I could have a Career. In a nowhere town, with no one I know.

I thought about it a lot today, and assuming D. actually continues to make with the car payments, I could maybe have about $1000 saved by September. That should almost be enough for security and rent and maybe even a U-haul. So, I could in fact do this.

So, then, we have to get into whether I want to do this. It scares the hell out of me, (and I haven't even started to think about the whole Being a Manager, and The Hiring Thing and the Just Generally Being In Charge aspect yet) but I think this is something I want to do. In all honesty, my only other option is sticking around here until Patti dies. Then, I might get a manager slot eventually and I don't have to move, but I'll have to face the possibility of living in this damn town forever. That's also a pretty scary proposition.

More on this story, as it develops...

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey