Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

waiting for the cable guy
2003-03-31 11:00 a.m.

It's 8am. I get to spend all day today waiting for the cable guy. Friday night, I had internet service, but Saturday, I did not. I called the service line, and got a recording suggesting I check all the connections, then try unplugging the modem and reconnecting it. I'd already done that a few times, but I hadn't waited the recommended 30 seconds before reconnecting. So, I tried it again. Still no internet. I called the tech support again. The first thing the guy suggested was unplugging the modem. I said I'd done that, several times, but he insisted I do it again. Strangely, having him talk me through the unplugging and replugging process didn't magically make everything better. So, he said he'd send someone out to look at it today.

"There will be a service technician in your area between 8am and 6pm on Monday."

"Uh, you don't think you could be a little more specific, maybe? I've got a lot of important stuff to do that day."

"Yeah, right. You mean something more important than FEEDING YOUR INTERNET ADDICTION?? Don't make me laugh. We OWN you, and you know it."

"...You bastard."

See if you can guess how much of that conversation only happened in my head.

***

So, I'm hoping the guy manages to get here relatively soon, so I can still do some laundry and get to the bank and maybe even find something to wear to Formal today too. It is very important that I look fabulous at Formal this year. That sounds so strange. We all know that looking fabulous has simply never been one of my concerns. (It just happens, ha ha ha) But, I've never had to go to a "date" event alone, while my ex-boyfriend was there with his new girlfriend. So, fabulous. And never you mind that my budget for fabulosity is roughly 11 dollars. Shut up. Fabulous, I'm telling you. Fabufuckinglous.

***

Money sucks. If I could just know that I won't need to put aside that extra $200/month more or less forever, I'd be just fine. There are so many things I want, but I can't afford any of them, because for the next 16 months, I have to be able to make the car payment when he can't. I wish there was another way to do this. I wish he didn't have such shitty credit, and he could just take out a loan to get the car out of my name. I wish I'd get that $2000 tip some night, so I could just give him the car and forget about it. I know this is a relatively small amount of money in the grand scheme of things, but it's killing me.

Oh, wait. This is the part I swore I wasn't going to bitch about in here.

***

Almost 9am. Where are you, cable guy??

***

The LARP has a MUSH now. If I can ever manage to be there while anyone else is, it's going to be so addictive it's scary. 24/7 hardcore geek on geek action, baby!

***

I really don't want to spend the whole day babbling in here. I'm thinking that if I do all the stuff I gotta do that doesn't involve leaving the house now, then it won't suck so much if the errands have to wait until tomorrow.

***

10:52 Ich habe internet! Woohoohoo!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey