Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Argh and grr and other guttural expressions of displeasure.
2003-02-28 9:27 a.m.

Argh. Last night, Rigid was all food poisoned (don't ask) and asked if I would mind driving his car. I didn't think his car was that much larger than the PurpleMobile, but apparently, it's roughly one side mirror wider. I've backed out of that driveway approximately four million times, but in his car, I failed. I took the neighbor's mirror off entirely.

This happened at about 11pm. I was not thinking very clearly, and decided that since the neighbor was probably asleep, I should just go over the next morning to apologize and arrange some sort of payment. We pulled out of the driveway, and were merrily on our way.

As we were leaving Paul's house, it occured to me that the neighbors might very well wake up before I got over there and freak out. I left a note inside their front door explaining the situation on my way upstairs. When we got to the apartment, there was a message on the answering machine. The nice police officers wanted to talk to me about a hit and run incident.

I was up super early today, and knocked on their door at 8:30. No answer, but my note is gone. I can't call them, because I don't know their names. The man is John, and every time I hear his wife's name I swear that this time, I WILL remember it. I assume they have a last name, but I have no idea at all what it is.

We've always been friendly in the past, so I'm really hoping that if this turns out to be expensive, they'll let me do installment payments or something.

GODDAMMIT!! I had it figured out, I really did. If I save $100/week of tips and get $100/week in paychecks (both conservative estimates), my rent is $225, assorted other bills are $100, $150 for the brain payments and $200 for the credit cards. In a mere four months one of the cards goes away, and then that makes the others go away even faster.

But NOOOO! Apparently, my life recently was shaping up to be a little too easy.

***

I've decided it's time for a new background in here. I am lazy, so instead of bothering to relearn just enough HTML to do something nifty, I used DreamWeaver. It looks pretty slick, but now I've got a problem. As near as I can tell, Dreamweaver lets me cut and paste stuff to wherever I want it, and figures out the necessary coding to make it happen. Then, DW helpfully puts a copy of the JavaScript right on top of the document. There is no transporting this pile of crazy moon language to Word or anywhere useful. It just sits there, nicely color coordinated with the rest of the page, mocking me.

It's scary looking stuff, too. All semicolons and obscure strings of random letters. I think that what I have to do now is sit down and copy all this gibberish by hand into Word, and then into the D-land template editor. The original point of the exercise was to AVOID extra work. Grr.

***

Quick update: I heard the neighbor's car starting just now, and went running downstairs to talk to her. She said it's no problem, the car lost the side mirror on the other side years ago. Funny lady.

I assured her I would pay for the damage, but it would have to be in installments and she said she was just glad we could settle everything just between us like this. I love my neighbors.

It occurs to me, I'd be in a phenomenal mood right now, if I could just get that damn Javascript issue straightened out. I should have asked her if she has any experience with DreamWeaver.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey