Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

He didn't undress, I did.
2003-02-04 7:15 p.m.

It's 630 am. D and I have been lying in bed crying together for the last four hours. All day long, I knew something was bothering him. This morning, he wasn't doing anything but sitting at the computer playing mp3s for two hours. I tried hugging him, and got no response. I went to work, I did laundry. Tonight (last night?) we watched a movie. I invited him to come sit by me on the comfy couch, but he didn't move. We read for a while, on separate couches, and then we went to bed. He didn't undress, I did.

We lay in the dark for while, and then he said it's best if we just end the relationship, before he does me any more damage. I insisted several times that I loved him, and I never felt like he was holding me back. He said he was tired of being a sponge, and I deserved someone better. I said I didn't want anyone else, and all the screwups we've had over the years, I've been partially responsible too. But I'm the one with the degree, he said. But it's been a lot of good times, I said. But yeah, that's the problem, he said. I could have so much more than just good times, and did I really still want to be doing this in 40 years? Well, would it be different if he had a job? No, because this is something he's been thinking about for a lot longer, it's just been on his mind even more lately. But I love you, I need you, who else will keep me sane? Well, maybe without him around, I won't be so insane and moody and prone to random crying jags.

I love you more than anything, and you'll always be my best friend, but I need to do this, for both of us.

As soon as he gets a job, he'll start looking for a new apartment. That means I'll have to look for another apartment too. Although I can barely pay the rent here on my wages, I haven't paid any other bills in two months. As a temporary thing, it was stressful. As the rest of my life, it's insane. I love this apartment. Yeah, it's drafty and not in the best shape, but after almost three years here, it felt like home. I hate moving.

And don't even get me started on how we're supposed to split up nine years of communal stuff. 90% of the apartment is stuff we bought together. You could argue that most of the technology was bought under his urging, while I was more inclined to obtain furniture and dishes and stuff. That seems like an easy division, but neither one of us will have much of a life. Maybe it's not even particularly fair. I don't even know.

He kept saying how sorry he was. I didn't know if he meant he was sorry for the last nine years, or sorry for making me cry right now. I didn't want to ask. Nine years. I didn't tell him that in just three days it would have been our anniversary. I also didn't tell him the part about how yeah, I have no career, no family, but the one thing I had that I thought I was doing right was, I had him. The one person you can live with forever, in sickness and in health and etc. A lot of people don't even get that far. But we did.

Or, maybe not.

I was 19 when we started dating. I've never actually lived totally on my own. Maybe I'm supposed to be looking forward to this. Finally, a chance to prove that I really can be independent. I'm so scared, though. And lonely. He's still right in my bed, but I miss him already.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey