Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Work Rant #8,420,523
2002-12-17 9:46 a.m.

I was being random and strange over on the LARP message boards, and decided it was probably much better to take that sort of thing over here instead. Y'all already know I'm nuts.

Now all I need is something to talk about....

I'm not working today! The last three times I worked at the restaurant, I got screwed, so there is no way at all I will answer the phone today.

Friday was supposed to be my first day off in about two weeks. I slept in, I played on the computer a bit, I read some. I spent four whole hours doing absolutely nothing productive. It was so very nice.

Then, at 1:45, Linda called. Roxanne had just that minute called in sick, could I work 3 to 8? Well, four work-free hours is almost a day off, I guess. Besides, I'm poor and stuff, so OK.

There are supposed to be 3 waitresses on Friday nights. ONE of the scheduled ones actually bothered to come in. Lusy, Nick's wife, took the third section, but said she wanted to leave early. Guess who stayed to close.

Saturday, I was supposed to work 7-2. Ann never showed up, so Lusy worked. Lusy had to come back to cover for someone else at night, so she left first again, could I just stay until 3?

(It occurs to me, I think "Laura" is a figment of Nick's imagination. She's been on the schedule three times, and no one has ever seen her. Either Nick hallucinated hiring this woman, or in his mind "Surprise! Extra shift!" is somehow better than just admitting he couldn't find anyone, and making the schedule with extra hours for the people who do in fact work there. "If I write a random name down for Saturday morning, maybe that will magically call this person into existence!!")

Bryan happened to come in about 2:30. I told him I was walking at 3, even if no one showed up.

No one showed up. I spent 20 minutes debating whether I'd hate myself more for wussing out and not following through on a random smartass comment, or for realizing in a few hours that I'd quit the job that actually almost pays well.

Nicole, who should have been there 20 minutes ago, wasn't even on the list of employee phone numbers. I called Nick. He said he'd be there right way.

At 3:45, he finally came in. He found Nicole's number, and established that she had misread the schedule, she was really sorry, she'd be there ASAP.

Yesterday, I was supposed to work 11-4. At 20 to, Ann called. She was still at the dentist with her daughter, so she might be a little late. I assured her that was fine. Someone else was also supposed to come in at 4, so I could still leave on time.

Between 3:55 and 4:10, five tables came in. I didn't even have a chance to notice I was still all by myself till 4:20.

Lusy came in. "Annie! Why you still here?"

"Well, Ann called and said she was going to be late, and I haven't had a chance to see who else was supposed to be here yet."

"Aiyiyi, Annie!"

"Yeah, I know."

Nick came in. Lusy ranted at him in Albanian for a few minutes.

"*Albanian Albanian*"

"*Albanian*!"

"*Albanian* Annie *Albanian Albanian*"

"Aiyiyi!!"

"You go now, Annie. I work. Besnick, *Albanian Albanian Albanian*!!!"

I really wish I spoke Albanian. I miss out on so much.

***

Is it really so much to ask, that people show up for work occaisonally? I know it's just waiting tables. But I treat it like a real job. Why won't anyone else?

***

And now for something completely different:

Delirium%2C%20the%20youngest%20of%20The%20Endless%2C%20you%20are%20the%20keeper%20of%20insanity%2C%20delusion%20and%20everything%20else%20that's%20just%20plain%20crazy.%20You%20make%20about%20as%20much%20sense%20as%20fish%20and%20telephone%20flavored%20ic
Which Endless are you?

brought to you by Quizilla

Yaay!! I get to be Delirium!!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey