Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Bah humbug, etc.
2002-12-04 6:46 p.m.

Here's the deal. I don't want to think about Christmas at all right now. I don't want to try and decide what I want from anyone, and I definitely don't want to think about paying for stuff for anyone else. I've got four dollars cash, and a stack of late bills bigger than my head. Christmas this year is probably more trouble than it's worth.

He said on Monday, it was time to stop being picky, and get a job at McDonalds. The Cowtown paper only comes once a week, but I got both Oshkosh and FDL. He hasn't even opened them up yet.

Now I'm thinking crazy things, like hiding the PSII on him, or withholding sex, or refusing to buy food, till he gets a fucking job. I stopped paying the cable bill two months ago, but strangely, we still have service.

I'm also obsessed with the idea of the five million dollar tip again. It's going to happen. It just has to. In fact, I won't even be greedy about it. All I really require is for someone to come in and randomly leave me, say, $2000. Compared with a random five million dollar tip, a mere $2000 magically in my life is almost sane. Yeah.

I don't know why someone would do this. The whole fantasy sort of breaks down when I try to think of logical reasons why this might happen. But if it doesn't happen this fucking week, I really don't know what I'm going to do.

***

I've been reading the first Wheel of Time book, because Paul recommended it. I'm not even sure of the title, because Paul's copy has been loved so much that he had to bind it with duct tape. I feel kind of bad for not loving it too, but it's somehow just not really my thing. It's holding my attention enough to keep reading, but I don't think I want anything to do with the other 47 million books in the series. I keep thinking about how I'd much rather be rereading The Two Towers right now.

I read all three books in a blur last December. I've got Fellowship pretty firmly in my head now, because I've seen the movie so many times, but I'm drawing a total blank on the rest of the series. I'm pretty sure The Two Towers was the one I decided I liked best. It had Ents in it, right? I remember liking the Ents.

***

Aargh. So much to do. Gotta send e-mails asking for gift ideas to all the family. Gotta figure out what I want for Christmas, gotta figure out what D. wants for Christmas. (There's an evil part of my brain, urging me to tell everyone who asks for ideas for him that he's really into broccoli and fuzzy sweaters with kitten designs. That'll teach his unemployed ass a thing or two. HA!)

***

I just today realized I am smarter than I thought. One part of my family does a name exchange, and I was sure I'd lost the little slips of paper from last year about two days after I got them. But, when I changed the calendar to December today, I saw I'd written the names right on it. Or, I had some other reason for randomly writing the names of two cousins. No no no. I was clever. So, instead of having to ask Grandma who the hell I have to shop for first, I can proceed directly to the stage of putting off writing to said cousins for ideas for another week or two. Go, me.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey