Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Singing in the rain
2002-09-19 3:01 p.m.

So, it was sheets-of-water-falling-out-of-the-sky raining about 10 minutes ago. It's not raining at all right now, which makes it even funnier.

I was at the restaurant. I was done with work. I saw the way you couldn't even see the other side of the street through the rain, and then I thought about how my home is in every possible way a better place to be than the restaurant, and decided I didn't want to wait for the rain to stop.

By the time I'd walked the block to the gas station, I was soaked to the skin. Over the last 1/2 block to my house, I was giggling and stomping my way through all the puddles. I reasoned there wasn't anything I could do to get any wetter, so what the hell. I felt like I was about 8 years old. It was the perfect stress reliever after a crazy busy day at work.

***

Tash was over last night. She's been in Florida since graduation. She and her lifemate, Katie, wanted to finally collect some stuff that had been in a storage locker in Tasha's hometown for the past six years. Since they had driven all the way to Wisconsin, they decided to make a grand adventure out of it, and visit all the people Tash hadn't seen in forever. They didn't get to town till 9ish, and I absolutely had to be in bed by midnight, but it was so great to even see her that much.

She and Katie are apparently even more into the Sims than I am. Scary. She had her laptop along, so she showed me all the crazy stuff Katie had found online. Mmmm. Summon Technology. Yes, I think you DO want to come over. Yes. Right now. Hee hee hee.

Tash also plays with the BuildASim program a lot more than I ever did. She has one whole neighborhood of Taus. A lot of the Sim Taus were close enough that I could recognise them without even seeing the names, and Sim Jake looks exactly like Jake. Cool. All the couples live together (D and I get to live in the wacky floating house! Rawk!) and everyone else lives in a family called The Gamers, which amused me muchly. Oh, and Sim Daven and Sim Edie are apparently married. Teehee.

***

Tash also brought me a boxful of books. Those of you who have faithfully committed all of my adventures thus far to memory already know why that's funny. If you haven't, I forgive you, but travel back in time with me to here, here,, here, and finally here. Oh, and ignore the part about how you don't recognise any of the names. I'm feeling much better now, honest.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey