Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

It's not 9/13 yet, so this is still relevant, dammit
2002-09-12 11:57 p.m.

Figures. I've finally got a day off, and the internet is broken. I'm pretty sure it's just my computer having issues, but I can't help feeling paraniod. Maybe the world ended yesterday, and I just don't know about it yet.

And speaking of the world ending, bravo to Warren for saying exactly what I was afraid to admit I was thinking about the whole remembering 9/11 thing. Yes, it happened. Yes, it was a tragedy. But since then, a lot of other stuff has happened too. Call it a triumph of the American spirit if it makes you feel any better, but the bottom line is that most people have gotten on with their lives.

But there are reminders everywhere, you say. Have you seen a magazine rack this week? Did you visit Yahoo yesterday? I'm guessing, though, that most people who still care, only care because they think it's what they're supposed to be doing. I'm not saying no one cares. I think I'd feel a little sick if yesterday went by and no one even remembered. But that doesn't mean we need a national day of mourning.

Someone asked me yesterday if I thought 9/11 should be made a national holiday. I wasn't even sure how to respond. Part of me was screaming, "What, you mean like Memorial Day? Do you even know what Memorial Day used to mean, or is it just a three-day weekend with lots of sales for you? Or, is that what you want your memories of 9/11 to become? Get TWICE the savings, on Twin Towers Day!!" The sane part of me prevailed, and I ended up saying nothing at all.

I'm really not totally cynical and soulless, you know. I remember being scared this time last year, and I remember seeing everyone come together in the weeks that followed, and it was amazing and inspiring and all of that. And if you sincerely got something yesterday out of remembering how you felt a year ago, then may the diety of your choice bless you for it. But let me know if you still feel the same way in ten years, or even two.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey