Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Thou Shalt Not Drive
2002-07-26 1:28 p.m.

This is the week that God spoke to me. He said unto me, "Thou Shalt Not Drive."

Tuesday, I got a speeding ticket. I could swear that there's just no way I was going as fast as the nice mister police officer man said I was, but that's what everybody always says. $128 for The Man. Damn the Man!

Wednesday, I got a parking ticket. Honestly, good Lawkeeping folk, what do you want of me? In a rational universe, driving too fast and not driving at all should be mutually exclusive. Or, at least I shouldn't get busted for them in the same week. It was a totally bogus charge, too. I am a good citizen. I usually put a little extra in the meter, to cover 10:50ish to 4:05ish. I had to stay a little late at the bookstore, and didn't actually get to the parking lot till 4:10. The ticket said it was written at 4pm. Do I sound like a raving paranoid if I say the cop must have been specifically watching my car, to write a ticket the very instant my meter ran out? Cuz that's exactly what happened. That's only gonna be 5 bucks, but it still rankles.

Also Wednesday, D. said the brakes in the car were making strange noises. Brakes are one of those things it's best to have looked at before the funny noises turn into the not quite so funny noises of me screaming as the car plummets off a cliff. There are no cliffs that I pass in my normal drives around town, but you know what I mean. Thursday, I paid $238 for new brakes.

For a few brief moments this week, I was happy about the finances. August is a five-payday month for D, and I figured I could use the extra to stop feeling behind on everything, and maybe even finally replace the PSII before it gives out entirely. But noooooo! Stupid police. Stupid brakes. Stupid God.

(I am writing this in WordPad, because Diaryland was being funky a minute ago, and erasing everything as soon as I was two or three sentences in. It occurs to me now that perhaps God is paying more attention than I'm giving him credit for. Um...I love you, God. Keep up the good work, you're doing an all around aces job. Now can I pretty please get this entry submitted? Oh, and if in your infinite mercy, you could stop with the financial smiting of yours truly, I'd appreciate it.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey