Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Reunion (part one)
2002-06-17 9:52 a.m.

I've also been thinking about my ten-year reunion.

I'm not going. No way. The only appeal I can think of for these things is the whole highway-accident kinda atmosphere. You don't want to look, or even know. You keep telling yourself that, but it's just not possible to look away.

It occurs to me that I don't think I've ever met anyone who wanted to go to a high school reunion. Obviously, there must be people who like these things. But who are they? Just think about that for a minute. Are these the sorts of people you really want in your life, even for a few hours?

Here's my idea: Let's get a pool of people together, draw names, and all go to someone else's high school reunion instead. I guarantee that we all went to school with basically the same people. At someone else's reunion, you could see all the archetypical encounters going on, and not have to get emotionally involved in any of them.

The logistics will be rather funky, but I'm sure we can get the details ironed out with a little thought.

"Yeah, I'm Daven. No, really. I'm Daven. Why do you keep looking at me like that? I haven't changed that much, have I?"

Of course, once it caught on, everyone would be doing it. If by some chance you screwed up and went to your own reunion by mistake, you still might not see anyone you actually knew. Just a lot of representatives. Which would be its own kind of fun.

***

Damn. I really want to play with this idea more, but I've gotta get to work. Stupid reality! Always spoiling my fun. To be continued, perhaps.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey