Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

My Formal Entry.
2002-04-30 11:15 a.m.

I made a conscious decision not to do a Formal entry. All you poor Tau fools have put forth Formal recaps over the past few days. I thought I would be Making a Statement of some sort by not giving you my unique perspective, just like everyone else.

No other topics are coming to mind right now, though. Besides, it's fun, reading about the same thing again and again and again, seeing what different aspects other people noticed, that maybe you missed. So. My Formal Entry:

***

D. actually had something really brilliant to say about Formals a few years ago. Formal is like the Tau version of Christmas. You have to dress up. You have to at least be civil to all the people you normally run away from screaming. There will be Incidents. But you go anyway, because it's so nice, once a year, to see everyone together and pretend we're not a chaotic and dysfunctional mess, but maybe a family. A chaotic and dysfunctional family, that is.

***

I didn't actually dress up. I put on the spiffy tie-dyed lacy tank top. I put on the nylons. I realized it was only 3, and there was no way I was gonna wear a skirt for even one second longer than I had to. I put on a pair of jeans. It looked pretty cool. Better than the skirt would have looked. I decided my "look" was Summer Casual, and if nothing else, I was going to be comfortable.

And I was. I was so very comfortable. I wasn't even miserable walking home in the rain and sleet. I can't believe how many of these damn things I've gone to in a dress. Never again, my friends. Besides, Wej wore a dress, so I didn't have to.

***

I didn't see nearly enough of anyone. I was doing my usual routine of talking to everyone for about five seconds, then wandering off. It meant I got to see everyone, but I didn't really get to hang out with anyone. All I really did was remind myself exactly how much I miss not being able to see all these amazing people whenever I want to. You know who you are. I love you, and I'm sorry I couldn't spend the whole night with each and every one of you.

***

"Bohemian Rhapsody." It's Andy's song. We all know this. I was so afraid people would be all wrapped up in the Andy aspect that they'd forget it's also the Tau song. But Formal this year produced maybe the best rendition of that song ever. I really do love you all.

The music starts. Every single person in the room knows, from the very first word, exactly what song it is. Drinks set down, everyone on the dance floor. The circle forms. The circle expands. The circle expands a little more. (And don't you love that feeling? Of course there's room for you. This is Tau.)

Swaying to the music. Of course, at least a few people are too drunk to figure out the rhythm, so someone starts shouting. "LEFT! RIGHT! LEFT! RIGHT!" Fortunately, the introduction is pretty long, and most people are all sorted out in plenty of time.

Arms around shoulders. Look around. These are the best people in the world. This is the best song, ever. There's just something so right about Taus and the way they do this song. There's a little crying, tonight, but maybe that's just right too.

The tempo changes. "I see a little silhouetto of a man..."

Everyone knows all the words. Many appropriate dramatic poses are struck. Some people are together enough to only sing half the lyrics. Some are singing both parts. Some are very very drunk, and are still trying to sway.

It all builds up to a frenzy of posing and singing in increasingly silly falsettos, "For me...for me...FOR MEEEEEEEE!"

Headbang time. For a minute, you're the only one on the dance floor. Everyone else is too, but this is the part when they don't matter quite as much. (It's just now occurred to me, I don't think anyone has ever gotten hurt doing this. A horde of drunk headbanging fools, absolutely no regard for anything going on around them, and no major injuries. We really are a pretty amazing bunch of people.)

The music slows. The circle reforms. "Any way the wind blows...."

Hugs. Fade to black. Cut, and print.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey