Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

cleaning and dancing
2002-04-24 4:08 p.m.

I cleaned today. I've been doing the bare bones straightening up routine for about a month, but today I even swept and mopped and vacuumed and stuff. My apartment doesn't actually suck nearly as much as I thought it did. People could maybe even live here.

Gotta get a couch sometime soon, though. If it wasn't raining, I might even be motivated enough to do it right now. Well, no. But maybe I'll do it tomorrow. Er...I'll look into maybe thinking about doing it tommorow. Maybe.

***

I almost talked myself out of cleaning.

Me: Why exactly are you doing this?

Me: Because it has to be done. Formal is this weekend, and just in case anyone ends up visiting me, I don't want them to be frightened.

Me: Now wait a minute. Who do you really want to see this weekend? These are your friends. Every single one of them knows you're a hopeless slob, and they've all seen your place looking a lot worse than it does right now.

Me: ...

Me: In fact, won't seeing your apartment cleaned up actually frighten them a little?

Me: ...

Me: Is that what you want them to think? Isn't that really saying, "You're not a friend. You're someone I clean up for?"

Me: Wow. I hadn't thought of it like that.

Me: Well, maybe you'd better. That's right. Sit down, have a cigarette, get something to drink....oh, look. It's that Sandman anthology. Those are some really fucking good stories in there so far....

Me: Yeah...NO! I will clean today! Get thee behind me, ApathyDemon! I don't care if you are smarter than me, I will prevail! This apartment is disgusting, and I want it clean! And clean it shall be!!

***

So, I cleaned. The bedroom is still a little scary, but I actually had a good reason for stopping.

Are you ready? Drumroll, please....

badabadabadabada...(teehee)

I have a job interview on Wednesday! It's part time, and it's in FDL, but it's at! a! bookstore! And SHE called ME!!!! Huzzah!

(There's a good song playing, and I got up to dance. Yes, I was dancing, by myself, completely sober, in the computer room. These things happen. I stopped, because I hit my head pretty damn hard on the wall. Don't ask. No more dancing right now.)

***

Apparently, no more writing, either.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey