Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

My creative day
2002-04-19 8:27 a.m.

So, hi. I was going to do an entry yesterday, but man, I was so creative in so many different directions, I just didn't have anything left for you guys.

I filled out a different job application (always a creative process...), for Book World in Fond du Lac. My plan right now, I think, is to eventually turn in an application at every Book World in the state. As God is my witness, I will work at a bookstore.

This one is not a management position, and it's only part time. This means that if I'm hired, I'll still have to keep working at Kristina's for a while. I know it's a bad idea, all around. I'll explain that I only want 20 hours. Nick will say, "Annie, you work 30 hours this week?" "Annie, you work 11-close, just for today?" and it will suck to be me. But, if I can do it for even a few months, the next time a bookstore anywhere near here needs a manager, there really won't be any reason at all not to hire me. I'll have a college degree, a winning smile, and mad phat bookstore skillz.

Today, I must call Beaver Dam again, and hope that Kathleen is there. I've been missing her all week. (Oh, and I did manage to get my resume onto the hard drive. Cheers, Warren!) She hasn't been calling me, which is one of the reasons I'm going the FDL route.

***

I tie-dyed. I had a shirt for Formal that was almost perfect, but entirely the wrong color. Now, it's green and blue and kicks ass. I also did a couple t-shirts, since I had all the stuff out, and as we all know, I've got almost my weight in white t-shirts.

***

I played with the digital camera. Techincally, I spent most of the afternoon trying to find the damn cord, and maybe a half hour actually using the camera, but since this entry is all about how creative I was yesterday, let's just pretend I was...uh...looking in very creative places. Yeah.

I thought I was losing my mind. I knew I owned a cord, because I had actualy done the picture transferrence routine once before, but it wasn't anywhere. It wasn't on the table. It wasn't on the bookshelves. It still wasn't on the table. It wasn't in the box of extra pieces. It still wasn't on the bookshelves. I tore the computer room apart, several times, and couldn't find it all.

Had it been a figment of my imagination, perhaps some wonderful dream? No, it couldn't have been, dammit, because I used it once. Where did it go? For the love of God, where did it go??

Paul came over for a while, and sympathized with my plight, but did nothing to help me, the dirty bastid. Then, as he was leaving, I saw it under the corner of the big chair in the living room. I shouted out "YESSS!" as loudly as I could, hoping he would hear me. He was in the driveway, and called up, "Um...having fun?"

"I found it."

"Oh. OK then."

***

So, I had the camera, and I took pictures of all my LARP art. Some of it actually amuses me, and I wanted to make sure I had a copy of it, just in case anything happens to the originals.

Now, I'm thinking I'd like to display some of them here, just so you can all laugh at my artistic pretensions, but I think I might have to shut down everything else before I can start playing with them. Fireworks is being pissy. More later, maybe.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey