Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I work too much.
2002-04-02 9:39 a.m.

The schedule is pretty funky this week, but it's closer to my ideal schedule than it's been for a while. I had Tuesday and Thursday off, double Monday, double Friday, all damn weekend, and 4-8 Wednesday.

Nina wanted Tuesday off. The easiest solution was for me to just pick up her double shift, but I said no way. That's three 10-hour shifts, yo. Plus days all weekend, plus Wednesday.

Then, Denise said that she could do Tuesday night, if I just did the first half. Then, Maggie said she could come in Monday night, and I could just have a sane shift that day too.

Everything was going so well. I was suddenly magically looking at almost the schedule of my dreams. Too bad there's six shifts involved, though. Hey, Nina's only got four shifts. Maybe she'll pick up Wednesday night.

I explained how she didn't have very many hours now. I pointed out that I had a shift I could give her. She said she doesn't wanna work nights. She picked up Maggie's Thursday day shift instead.

But but but! The point was that Ana had too many hours! You know, Ana? The sweetheart who bent over backwards, and talked to a million people so you could get your damn Tuesday off? The living saint, everyone's favorite waitress, the one who let you go an hour early last Saturday, even though it nearly killed her to stay? You know? Aaaaannnnaaa??

I didn't push the issue. Partly because it really had been a team effort, getting her Tuesday off, and since Maggie picked up the Monday night, she also was looking at more hours than she really wanted. Besides, at the end of the day, I had traded a Monday night, which sucks, for a Tueday day, which is not quite as grim.

Compared to the 11-close shifts, a five hour shift is practically a day off. I'll just keep telling myself that.

And I'll get a newspaper today, and get going on that job search thing again.

***

LARP is this weekend. I know you don't wanna hear about how I was gonna meet the Prince, but now he's MIA and everyone is in turmoil, so we'll instead touch lightly on the fact that Saturday is going to be insane.

Up at 6. Work till 1. LARP till 2am. Up at 6 again on Sunday. Coffee is my friend. I loves me some coffee.

If I can't actually do this, if I end up a quivering heap on the dining room floor by 9am Sunday, I'll just have to think of something else. Getting one Sunday off a month shouldn't be an issue. But I happen to know exactly what the place I work is like. Feh.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey