Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I am an artiste! No, really. Check out my stats, yo..
2002-03-17 8:36 p.m.

So, tomorrow, I'm gonna go buy some art supplies. Then I'm gonna spend the afternoon playing with them. That should be fairly amusing.

I made this LARP character, right? And I decided she was an artist, right? That part makes perfect sense. I wanted to be a Toreador with actual talent (not another poseur), but I didn't want to be a writer. I thought it through, and decided that even if it was just in-game, I might take it personally if someone got all snippy and bitchy and said my character couldn't write.

I'm dealing with so many new things here. I just can't make the time for a neurotic episode. Much better to just avoid the whole issue. My character, vehemently not a writer.

I'll be a painter, I said. That's the one with the brush, right? Great, terrific, let's go with that. So, what kind of painter? Uh....Watercolors. Yeah. That's the ticket.

I know for a fact that I can't paint, so it's all good. Someone says "You suck!" and I think to myself, "Yes. Yes I do. But you know what? My character does not. She has more points invested in this than the world has ever seen, so fuck you." I thought I was being so clever.

Then, I thought about it a little. Painter? What the hell was I thinking? Paint takes time to dry, you freak. What do I do with all these wet paintings that I work on in character? Am I supposed to carry around a dripping sketchbook? Can I even use a sketchbook? Won't I need a table or an easel or something? Watercolors??? What the hell?

I thought briefly about whining to the folks in charge, and getting that one little word on my character sheet changed, but I decided that would be really lame. I made a Bad Impulse Decision, but I'm gonna stick with it. It's a learning experience. (Specifically, I have learned that there are some things you can bullshit off the top of your head, and there are other things that maybe require a little more thought. The tricky part is learning to tell the difference.)

So, I've gotta buy watercolor stuff tomorrow, so I can make up a few paintings that exhibit my mad phat watercolor skillz that I invested so much into, let them dry in the privacy of my own home, and just carry them around in a portfolio or something.

And then I'll also buy some other interesting looking stuff that I could actually use as an in-character prop with a minimum of hassle. Are there such things as oil pencils, or did I just make that up? They sound intruiging, and messy. Messy equals fun, my friends. Ask anyone.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey