Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Bride of the Couch From Hell.
2002-03-13 9:26 a.m.

I bought a couch yesterday. Anne had offered me her old couch, but I decided I would rather just get the living room done. If I could have one hanging-out room in livable condition, the library could wait a few weeks till I saw her and got her desk.

I moved the futon over by the window. There was like an eight or nine foot space in my living room now, so I went in search of the biggest, softest damn couch I could find. And I found it. 112 feet of green velvet that you could just melt into and maybe never escape. Sweet. Maybe it wasn't quite 112 feet long. But it was pretty big. And oh so very comfy.

Dave kindly agreed to drive me to the thrift store to pick it up. It barely fit in the back of his truck. That was my first hint that perhaps I had been a little too overzealous.

Dave and I got it up the stairs with a minimum of difficulty. Now, you have to understand a little about my apartment. Basically, the idea I want you to grasp firmly in your mind is that my apartment sucks. Got that?

It's the upper half of a house. You go up the narrow little staircase, and you're literally two feet away from the bedroom. You're technically in the kitchen, and the living room is directly to your left. It's a tiny little intersection. My front foyer is a 3x3 square, surrounded on all sides by doorways with far too narrow jambs.

So, Dave and I got the couch up the stairs, and took it straight into the bedroom. And got no further. Dave was even really smart about it. He took the bedroom door off the hinges, to give us an extra inch or two. We tried angling it into the living room. We tried angling it into the kitchen. Nothing. The couch was too damn long to navigate the foyer. Dave was late for work, so I told him to just go, I'd figure something out.

I thought that maybe if I cut the legs off, I'd get a little extra maneuverability. I'd cut off three legs before I realized that even if this did work, I couldn't move it alone.

I called the lounge. Paul and Rijid and Ken said they'd be right over.

Dave had been smart. It hadn't been enough. I had been slightly insane. It hadn't been enough. Paul and Co. went for raw brute force. They ripped the top of the couch upholstery, and played holy hell with several doorjambs, but the couch remained in the bedroom.

So, now what? If I hadn't cut off the legs and ripped the top, I could maybe have taken it back to the thrift store. Several people suggested just rearranging the entire apartment.

Yeah. Not only would that be an incredible pain in the ass, I don't really wanna think about it. The library has the only fullsize wall without windows in the entire apartment. That's where the bookshelves have to go. The bedroom has all the closets. Besides, I love the bright and airy bedroom with lots of windows. The library windows are smaller, and mostly covered up by trees. It just wouldn't work, OK?

So, there's this hugeass couch in the bedroom now. Paul suggested that the House would love a new couch. Tom and Azzurra have also expressed interest. None of these people have a truck, and we are of course dealing with Tau apathy. I don't think I want to tempt God any further, so I won't even look for another couch till I get rid of the green monster.

Dammit! All I want is a nice home with a decent couch! Is that really so much to ask? Other people get to have couches. Why not me? Why not me???

***

Oh, and Mrs. Downstairs called. She tried to get out of the driveway, and asked if I could maybe move that couch out there over just a few more feet. SHE HAD PLENTY OF ROOM, but really, I'm not upset at all.

I'm actually kind of tempted to just pile the green couch on top of the leather one. Maybe I'll start buying a new couch every week, just to stack them up at the end of the driveway.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey