Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Ok, I'm ready for a real job. Now what?
2002-02-04 8:28 a.m.

Woohoo! It's another early morning overtired and ultracaffienated entry! I love those!

Well, I mean, they're kinda ok. *Slugs back some Toffee Coffee* Wheeeee! I LOVE those!

George is at the vet. As suspected, he was pretty confused when I took away the water. "Et tu, Hu-Man?" he said.

Wait, that doesn't really work. That would be what he would have said if a whole bunch of other people screwed him, and then I took away his kitty fountain. Uh...you know that other famous quote, the one referencing how you in particular have betrayed me yet again? That's what he said. Honest.

***

I would like to go on record as saying my Gold membership officially rocks. I got one because it seemed the easiest way to do all the stuff I wanted to do with my new layout. Oh, and because I really appreciate the tremendous work Andrew does to keep this place running, or something.

In addition to all that, though, I gots me some stats now. Stats are the best. Check out what I found in my referrer logs last night. No, really. Go check out that other guy. Follow the links for a while. Trippy, non?

***

So, the schedule for the week is up. I'm back on six shifts a week, five of them closing. I told Nick, "Hey, I've told you this before. I really don't like closing. I like 11-4 during the week, and weekend mornings." He assured me that this was just for this week. I wonder what he told Nina.

I closed yesterday too, so I snagged the classified section on my way out. Then I came home and began paging through the Resume book I checked out of the library last week.

The very first thing I read was, "Omit mention of inappropriate or undignified jobs." You know what? That's all I've got, homeslice. Crap.

I typed it all out anyway, and felt even worse. I've had six different employers in the last eight years. I know that there were extenuating circumstances, but it still doesn't look good. D. pointed out that they were also all high turnover positions, and the important thing is that every single one of them would give me a good reference.

Well, maybe.

There was nothing listed yesterday that screamed out THIS IS YOUR DREAM JOB!! but there were a few that mentioned they weren't looking for experience. What I need to do is find out who I know has experience with this sort of thing. I've never actually made a resume before. Maybe it wouldn't suck quite so much if I had a better idea of what I was doing. Maybe I'm missing something obvious that will somehow cast a rosy glow over what an idiot I've been since I graduated.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey