Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

This journal is now better, faster, stronger...Oh, wait. I guess it's just a new layout.
2002-01-21 7:02 p.m.

This is the part where I try not to draw attention to how clever I feel right now. See that background?? I made that background. (Ummm. It's...white. That's...just terrific, Ana. How proud you must be.) OK. Don't look at the background. I have a spiffy graphic to put there someday, but I can't quite figure out how to do it. Don't rush me! Look at those button-things instead, for now. I made those. Those are cool, right? Right???

Well, who cares what you think, anyway. I'm smug. I have a confession, you see. This is my very first made-practically-from-scratch web design ever. That cool blue design than I always got the compliments about? (Well, OK. Maybe I only got two or three compliments.) That was a template. It was a choice when I first came to D-land back in the day, but somehow disappeared from the list of options about a month later.

I kept it for so long because it made me feel all oldschool. "Hey! Lookit that," I imagined people In The Know saying, "She's been here forfuckingever, and she still can't design her own layout! That's uh, almost cool, I guess..."

Well, no more. I finally reached the point where I just didn't want to live the lie anymore.

OK, no. Honestly, I was just sick to death of those damn blue bubbles, and none of the other templates amused me. Besides, I'd thrown a bunch of other stuff on top of the template, and it looked like crap. My favorite part of the new design so far is how all the buttons match. Bah! Anyone can have a big ol' black "Sign My Guestbook!" right in the middle of everything and clashing with the background. My desperate plea for acknowledgement has a little finesse now.

***

So, I'm reading Harry Potter. I was afraid to say anything before, because I knew I didn't know squat, but now I can form an educated opinion about it.

WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE??

It's just a kid's book. Let me repeat that for you. Kid's. Book. As in, book meant for small people who may be missing teeth. Are you missing any teeth? Are you over four feet tall? You should not be raving about this book.

OK, it's amusing in places. I cracked up when Dumbledore said "I'd like to say a few words. And here they are. Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!" That was pretty funny. And there's a lot of little details that are fairly nifty. The way those letters were addressed to "The Cupboard?" Cute. The fact that he lived in a cupboard while his (stereotypically evil and loathsome) cousin had two bedrooms? Yeah, I laughed.

I laughed. And then, I walked away. I have no desire at all to see the movie. I'm not even entirely sure if I want to read more of the series. I heard so many otherwise intelligent people talking about these books that I was curious. I'm not curious anymore. They're kid's books. I think the bottom line is that there are a lot of other things I want to read first.

Maybe that makes me a bad person. But I'm a bad person with a smooooth lookin new design.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey