Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Jeeves rocks my world.
2002-01-15 9:56 a.m.

No big rant today. Just a lot of small stuff in my head.

Yesterday, I did nothing. I was working on the Entry From Hell. Just as I was wrapping it up, Rick called. Random Rick in my life! Woohoo! (He's doing fine. He's been housesitting for his mom while she was out of the country, but she's back now. He was laid off for a while, but he's just turned in an application to do some translating work for Milwaukee County.) He asked me how a couple dozen people are doing, and I directed him to the Alumni site. Then, of course, I got lost in it for a few hours. At 4:30 I finally managed to drag myself away from the computer to get to the bank and do some laundry.

I'm pretty sure I forgot to use detergent. It didn't even cross my mind until there were 10 minutes left on the dryer. At that point, it seemed far more trouble than it was worth to rewash everything. Oh well. At least I was using the big ol' industrial machines, and not the small ones that suck. My clothes don't smell April fresh, but they don't smell rank either. My clothes have absolutely no smell. Kinda odd.

I finished watching my Christmas present from my mom. I don't think it would make any sense to anyone but me, but I loved it.

Long long ago, there was a man named PG Wodehouse. In the 30's and 40's, he wrote maybe a hundred books about Bertie Wooster and his valet, Jeeves. The books all take place at assorted English Country Houses, with a dozen characters all in love with each other and getting drunk all over the place, and talking in this glorious mix of badly remembered famous quotes and apparently the British equivalent of flapper slang. (For some reason, this is in my mind right now: "Ah, the Blue Room. Yes, I had it last winter, Old Crumpet. It's not as deep as a well, nor as wide as a church door, but 'tis enough, will serve. Not my own, that. One of Jeeves' gags.") The plots are insanely complex, but all basically the same, and the fun part is watching it all develop. It's incredibly fast paced and fun reading, especially if you can identify some of the quotes and feel all learned.

My mom got me hooked on these books, and I read them all through high school, and when no one was looking, even up to the present. Jeeves. My secret shame. You don't understand! He knows absolutely everything!

Not quite so long ago, there was a British TV show called Blackadder. It's a great show in its own right, but the important thing right now is that two of the cast members from two different seasons were apparently good friends. Lord Melchard, Season Two, and the Prince Regent, Season Three. They had a sketch comedy thing going on A&E for a while. Then, they did a miniseries called "Jeeves and Wooster."

Imagine my young head exploding a few years back when I discovered this. Goddamm! Stephen Fry, as Jeeves?? Well, he's a little younger than I always imagined the character, but he does work really well with Hugh Laurie. And The Prince, as Bertie! That's genius. There probably isn't anyone I'd rather see with the whole fuzzyheaded and imperious but basically a good chap routine.

The series more than lived up to my expectations. Stephen Fry turned out to be a perfect Jeeves. He captured the whole quietly and tactfully doing whatever the hell he pleases routine in ways I hadn't even imagined possible.

So, my mom got me a whole season of "Jeeves and Wooster" for Christmas. Bliss bliss bliss bliss bliss. See? I knew you wouldn't understand. Trust me though, it's amazing.

***

Aaah! When did it get so late? Must get to work!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey