Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Mail call
2002-01-10 12:48 p.m.

This is a new feature of AnaLand, where I specifically reply to reader comments. It probably won't be a very regular feature. I don't get a lot of the reader comments.

In the past week, though, I've had three people sign my guestbook, and accumulated two private e-mails. Color me stunned. So, I'm going to pretend that this sort of thing happens all the time.

I am a Celebrity. I am a Rockstar. But, I'm not one of those Rockstars who forgets her little people. I love the little people. God bless 'em, I say. No, you may not kiss my hand. I don't love the little people that much.

***

tF: You say "http://askwejifyoudon't know." I did. Wej was unhelpful. I sent you an ICQ, but you haven't responded yet. What the hell??

Corwyn: Although I am occaisonally rankled by D's non-housework-oriented attitudes, it really doesn't bother me that much.

When I was growing up, my parents' basic attitude towards housework was "If it bothers you that much, do it yourself."

(This led to the year I was permanently scarred because I couldn't bring any friends home from school because it was August ferchrissakes and we still had all the Christmas stuff up. I thought I was teetering right on the brink of Cool, and if They had known what total freaks my parents were, I would have been even more of an outcast for sure. So, I invited no one home with me for a whole year. Strangely, I still wasn't one of the Popular Kids.)

The long and short of it is, keeping a fairly domesticated household is a lot more important to me than it is to him. I could wait for him to do it, which would never ever happen and I would go insane, and we still would have dirty dishes stacked to the ceiling and no toilet paper. I could yell at him until he did it, which would make both of us miserable. Or, I could just do the damn housework and get on with my life.

See, Corwyn, I bitch about me doing everything sometimes, but it's usually a symptom of some other reason I'm mad at him. Like those credit cards.

Lynne: Yeah. The mouse was scary. Boy, isn't it funny, how I'm writing this part of my journal at you, while you're in my kitchen making a sammich? Isn't technology nifty?

Nurgles: Damn! I already answered your e-mail. You're right, though. Credit sucks, a lot. Oh, and the rest of you, check out this really really depressing toy.

Scott: Twas "freaky fungus," as Rimmer would say. Not that you have any idea who Rimmer is. Amanda and Plenz will know though. Shrooms. Oh, and a Tick quote back atcha: "Sanity is a one-trick pony, Arthur. All you get is one trick. Rational Thought. But when you're good and crazy, the sky's the limit!"

***

There, now. Wasn't that fun? If I got more mail, maybe this could be a regular feature.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey