Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Perspective
2002-01-08 1:43 a.m.

Perspective is amazing. This is the entry I would have written at, say, 1:30 this afternoon:

"Mail just came. D. is down to NINE DOLLARS spendable on his $2000 credit card. I am going to kill him. I asked him to please cut back a little, just until I could get it down to a manageable size. I explained that this is maybe the most evil card I'd ever seen. 26.44% APR, yo. The interest alone is $40 a month. And that's only if he (read "I") manage to stay on top of the payments. and avoid any additional fees. I really don't know what to do here. If it gets overdrawn, he'll be in an even bigger world of pain."

And this is what I might have said at 3:45:

"And why exactly is it that when D. gets a day off, he spends it sleeping and playing video games, but when I get a day off, I have to do the laundry, pay the bills (HA!), buy groceries, and pick up after his sorry ass?? How exactly did that happen? I clearly haven't thought this through very well at all."

But, it's now 1:07 am. When I picked D. up from work, I mentioned the nine dollars thing. I took a deep breath, and prepared to launch into The Credit Lecture. Before I said anything, he reached into his wallet, and handed me all his cards. "Maybe you should just hold on to these for me for a while."

Well. Yes. Thanks. I wasn't expecting that at all. Thanks.

So, I don't have to kill him after all. And, more importantly, I don't have to write a long tortured entry about it.

***

In a similar vein, I've decided I maybe don't need a new winter coat after all. That was an entry I thought I was going to write a month or so ago. I've had the jacket I'm wearing now longer than I've had D. It was a Christmas gift from The Psychotic One.

It's a really good coat, and shows no signs of ever wearing out. But I was sick to death of it. No one should wear the same thing eight frickin winters in a row. And I can't seem to ever forget who bought it for me.

So, I spent a good chunk of December wearing a thinner, fall type coat with more and more layers underneath. Finally, about a week before Christmas, I cracked. "OK. I'll wear you, but I'm so not transferring my Illuminati pin over to you. You are a temporary coat, until I buy the new coat of my dreams after the holidays."

That first day I wore my winter jacket was amazing. I was warm. I'm such an idiot sometimes.

So, then I thought more about my new coat. Maybe I should get another ski jacket from LandsEnd.. This is a nice coat. It's not too bulky, but it's amazingly warm. And it's hella durable. And I love the way it makes little crinkly noises when it gets really cold. I'll buy a different color, maybe. But this one is green with a purple lining. My two favorite colors, all in one extremely warm coat with an inside pocket large enough to stow a book in.

It's taken me two weeks, but I realize now that I am not going to buy a new jacket this year. I transferred my Illuminati pin over the other day.

***

Perspective. I'm thinking that maybe the logical extension of this line of thought is to never ever write anything. Eventually, you'll get new information that renders the old stuff obsolete. I'm pretty sure that's flawed reasoning somehow, but I'm too damn tired to figure it out right now. It's hard to see how you've changed if you don't remember what you were. Something like that, anyway.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey